Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Why Did My Blog Slow Down?

There was a time when blogging was supreme to me.  I would go to work and think about blog posts.  I even kept notes on my iPhone to help me remember blog posts.  I would listen to a podcast of someone and I would always be thinking, “What can I do with this on my blog?”  Those days are gone.

These days I just work.  I still listen to lots of podcasts (mainly preaching and theology but sports are in there as well).  I read my Bible but try to just read it for me and for learning more about God then just looking for a post.  I still read lots of books (special thanks to a subscriber who recently sent me several good books to read) but I just read for me now and not for blogging.

I am thankful for the number of Arminian bloggers I see now.  When I first started this blog back in 2006-2007, there were few Arminian blogs.  In fact, I started my blog with the specific purpose of defining and defending Arminianism.  I saw a need and thought I would add my voice to it.  Having never been a Calvinist, I knew that many people really didn’t understand Arminianism and what we believe.  So I started blogging about theology from an Arminian perspective.  Along the way I have learned much and have made some great friends.  I am proud to see so many Arminians now out there blogging and spreading the gospel (and not just Arminianism).

I am not quitting.  I want to say that up front.  But I have slowed down.  Way down.  Between work (55-70 hours a week) and my family, I have little time to devote to blogging like I use to.  And to be honest, I don’t feel qualified to talk about theology like I use to.  I see so much sin in my heart and I hate it but its a reality.  That’s why I don’t blast guys who struggle, people who sin.  I sin.

Thats said, I still take theology serious.  I do still love Jesus.  I am not perfect (ask my wife and she’ll likely write a book for you).  I struggle.  I want to be godly.  I hate sin.  I long for Christ to return.  I believe we still need revival.  I still long to see people truly saved.  I am tired.

So I’ll still be blogging but that explains why the slowdown.  I pray you’ll forgive me.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

06/17/2016 at 12:44 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I pray you’ll forgive me.” You’re forgiven!

    I appreciate your reasons for slowing down on your blog, my having done the same for similar reasons. Keep up the good fight.

    Bob Hunter

    06/17/2016 at 1:08 PM

  2. God bless you Roy

    SLIMJIM

    06/18/2016 at 2:59 AM


Comments are closed.

