Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Bible Reading 2016

It is that time again to start thinking about reading the Bible in 2016.  This year was a struggle for me in my Bible reading.  I confess that to you and to the Lord (1 John 1:9).  I did read my Bible but not as faithful as I did in 2014.  Part of that reason was that in 2014 I used the One Year NIV Chronological Bible to read from.  That helped me stay focused on my Bible reading.  I thought that this year (2015), I would read my Bible on my own and slowly.  It didn’t go so well.  I did read my Bible but my Bible reading was way down compared to last year.

So next year (2016), I am going to use the One Year NKJV Chronological Bible for my Bible reading.  I already have mine on my Kindle ready to go.  I would recommend this title or the NIV.

Bible reading is a must for a child of God.  The Bible feeds our souls (1 Peter 2:1-3).  The Bible protects us from error (Hebrews 5:11-14) and the Bible keeps us persevering in the faith (James 1:21).  Jesus taught that His disciples abide in His teachings (John 8:31-32) but how can we do this if we don’t know His teachings by reading His Word?  The Bible keeps us from sin (Psalm 119:9, 11).  The Bible is our sword and the only weapon that God has given the disciple of Christ (Ephesians 6:17).  The Bible cuts us open to reveal who we truly are before a holy God (Hebrews 4:12-13).  There is such joy in reading the Word of God.

So my encouragement to you (and to my soul as well) is to focus on Bible reading in 2016.  God has given us such wonderful tools to use to read and study His Word.  I pray that 2016 will be a year of reading, studying, and memorizing the Word of God.  How precious are His truths!

Below are listed various Bible reading tools for you to consider.

  1.  NIV One Year Bible
  2. NIV One Year Chronological Bible
  3. NKJV One Year Bible
  4. NKJV One Year Chronological Bible
  5. KJV One Year Bible
  6. KJV One Year Chronological Bible
  7. ESV Daily Reading Bible
  8. MacArthur Daily Bible (NKJV)
Written by The Seeking Disciple

12/25/2015 at 12:58 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot link the following sayings with the verses:

    The Bible protects us from error (Hebrews 5:11-14) The Bible keeps us persevering in the faith (James 1:21) The Bible cuts us open to reveal who we truly are before a holy God (Hebrews 4:12-13).

    C. J. Fang

    12/25/2015 at 2:04 PM

  2. “So my encouragement to you (and to my soul as well) is to focus on Bible reading in 2016.” Good advice.

    As for me, ever since my wife gave me a “ESV Study Bible” for Christmas in 2010, I’ve read through the Bible each year using its Daily Bible Reading Plan. The first year I even read its study notes as well. However at least one of the years previous to that I read through the Bible chronologically. Like you, I enjoyed doing so.

    Best wishes for the new year.

    Bob Hunter

    12/26/2015 at 1:03 AM


Comments are closed.

