Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Christ’s Resurrection As Our Foundation

13 But if there is no resurrection of the dead, then Christ has not been raised; 14 and if Christ has not been raised, then our proclamation is without foundation, and so is your faith.
– 1 Corinthians 15:13-14 (HCSB)

The cornerstone of my faith in God is Christ Jesus.  You take Christ out of my faith, I have no faith.  I believe all that is written about Him in the Bible from the promise given to Adam and Eve in Genesis 3:15 to the fulfillment of the ages when Christ shall reign victoriously forever in Revelation 22.  I hear the rebuke of Jesus (Luke 24::25-26) and I respond in faith that He is who He says that He was, the very Son of God who came to take away our sins (John 1:29).  I believe the testimony of the Apostles, that Jesus is alive forever more (1 Corinthians 15:1-4)!  I stand with Paul the Apostle and declare that He will see all His enemies under His feet including death (1 Corinthians 15:24-26).

My faith isn’t based on reason alone.  My faith isn’t based on the teachings of Jesus alone.  My faith is reasonable (Acts 26:25).  I do believe that the words of Jesus are faithfully recorded in the Bible for me to study and live (John 8:31-32).  Yet my faith is in a historical person, in what He accomplished.  I believe with Isaiah the Prophet that Jesus went to the cross for my sins (Isaiah 53:4-6) and this pleased the Lord (Isaiah 53:10).  I believe that Jesus alone now turns away the holy wrath of God against my sins (Romans 5:8-9; 1 Thessalonians 1:10).  I believe that I now have no condemnation before God the Father because of the work of Jesus Christ (Romans 8:1) and I am declared righteous before a holy God through faith in Jesus (Romans 3:26 HCSB).  Jesus now sits by the right hand of God signifying His position of authority (Matthew 28:18) and power (Psalm 110:1).  Jesus now prays for the saints of God (Hebrews 7:25) till the kingdom of God is fully come (1 Corinthians 15:24, 28).

Jesus I now proclaim!  He is my message (1 Corinthians 2:1-5).  Jesus is the power of God unto salvation (Romans 1:16-17).  What Jesus did is what I preach!  My focus, my worship, my thoughts, my affections, my desire are all aimed at one person, the Lord Jesus Christ (Luke 14:25-35).  I want to see Him glorified in everything I say and do (1 Corinthians 10:31; Colossians 3:17).  I now have access into the holy presence of a holy God through the holy Son of God (Hebrews 4:14-16).  Jesus is my high priest by whom I pray and worship God (Hebrews 9:14).  Through Jesus, the Lord has removed the blinders so that I now see Him exalted and glorified (2 Corinthians 3:12-18).  He is my everything (1 Corinthians 1:30-31)!

I know that when I die, I will not leave a large mark on human history.  I will not go down in the history books for my great accomplishments or acts of valor.  I will not go down in history as a great poet, a great writer, or a leader.  Yet that is okay with me.  I know Jesus and that makes all the difference in the world to me (2 Timothy 1:12).  In eternity, Jesus will be all that matters (John 3:18).  No one else will matter.  Nothing else will matter.  Only what is done for Christ will last forever (1 Corinthians 3:11).  This is why Jesus must be our foundation.  He must be the one that we build our lives upon or we fail (Matthew 7:24-27).  Jesus must be the one that we preach or we fail (2 Corinthians 4:5-6).  Jesus alone is the only one who can save us from the wrath of God (Acts 4:12; 1 Timothy 2:4-5).

As I celebrate the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, I pray that others will repent and see that Jesus alone is the only way to God (John 14:6).  The answer for us fallen humans is not religion.  The answer is not a church group or the moral teachings of great people.  The answer is Jesus alone!  Our foundation must be built on Jesus alone or we fail.  The hope for the nations is the Lord Jesus Christ.  May His kingdom come (Matthew 6:10)!

I say with Paul here in 1 Corinthians 15:14, that if Jesus is not risen from the dead, our faith is without a foundation and is pointless.  Yet if Jesus is alive (and He is!) then this makes all the difference in the world for the disciple of Christ (1 Peter 3:18).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/04/2015 at 10:46 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen brother

    SLIMJIM

    04/06/2015 at 12:26 AM

  2. The church’s one foundation, is Jesus Christ our Lord……

    Steve Orwig

    04/06/2015 at 6:13 AM


Comments are closed.

