Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

The Chief of Sinners

I listen to a sports podcast in which they end it with their dopes of the week.  I always want to say, “I am the biggest dope that I know.”  I know some will not share my views here and will respond that we should only see ourselves in a positive light in view of the cross and what Christ has done in saving us.  I understand where they are coming from.  They want me to make only “positive confessions” about myself.

Yet I do see myself as the biggest dope.  It had nothing to do with comparing myself to you.  It has to do with me comparing myself to Jesus Christ.  The Bible is clear that Jesus was (and remains forevermore) absolutely perfect.  Jesus never sinned.  Jesus never erred in His judgments.  Jesus never committed adultery in His heart. Jesus never struggled with pride.  Jesus was tempted in all points as we are but He never sinned (Hebrews 4:15).  Jesus was perfect in word, thought, and deed always and He never failed to obey the Father perfectly from beginning to end.  Jesus said in John 6:38 that He came to do the will of the Father and not His own will.  This is why the Lord Jesus was given the name that is above every name, for His perfect obedience to the Father (Philippians 2:5-11; Hebrews 5:8-9).

Not so with me.  I have erred in my judgments.  I have committed adultery in my heart.  I have lied.  I have been greedy.  I have been full of pride.  I have wasted my time.  I have not always obeyed the Father nor can I say that I always do God’s will.  Jesus said in John 8:29 that He always does that which pleases the Father.  That is not me.  I am not even close.

So I am the biggest dope I know.  Paul said in 1 Timothy 1:15 that Jesus came into the world to save sinners and he was chief (NKJV).  That is me.  I feel that way.  Not because I am comparing myself to you but because I compare myself to Jesus.  He is perfect.  I am not.

This makes the doctrine of salvation so precious to me.  Who am I that Jesus would die for me?  Who am I that He should love me?  Why does He tolerate me so?  If it were up to me, I would cast me away but He doesn’t.  He keeps convicting me and calling me walk after Him (John 16:8).  I don’t deserve this life (John 10:10) but His grace and mercy blow me away.

I know I am the chief of sinners.  I know I am the biggest dope there is.   This is not false humility here.  I see myself in light of the cross.  I know my wicked heart.  That makes the work of Jesus so precious to me.  That He took my sins (2 Corinthians 5:21).  That He prays for me before the Father (Hebrews 7:25).  That this salvation is not based on me but upon Him (Ephesians 2:8-9; Titus 3:5-7).  That He came to take away my sins (Galatians 1:4).  That He is my salvation completely (1 Corinthians 1:30) so that I cannot boast (1 Corinthians 1:31).

Oh what grace Jesus has shown this sinner!  Oh what goodness Jesus has given unto me!  How can I not praise Him?  How can I not rejoice in the saving work of the Lord Jesus?  Oh how great is His love (1 John 3:1-3) and how great is His grace (1 Corinthians 15:10)!

Jesus came to save sinners and I am the dopiest of them all.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

12/15/2014 at 4:59 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep….we all are!

    Steve Orwig

    12/15/2014 at 5:10 PM

  2. Like Paul and you, I often feel that I am “the chief of sinners.” And often when I feel this way I question why God has blessed me so much, not only with salvation and other spiritual blessings but also with a great wife and other material blessings. Keep up the good work!

    Bob Hunter

    12/16/2014 at 12:21 AM

    • The Casting Crowns song, “Who Am I?” keeps playing in my head. Thankful for God’s grace.


Comments are closed.

