Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Theological Cyber Bullies

Social media is both a blessing and a curse.  It is a blessing as I get to meet disciples from all over the world and to be encouraged by what I read and see the Lord doing around the world.  For that, I am thankful for social media.

Yet the dark side of social media is the theological cyber bullies that I have met online.  These cyber bullies are relentless.  If you want to see this in action then go to Twitter and simply post something like “Calvinism does not save” and hash tag it with #Calvinism and watch what happens.  There are a group of Calvinists on Twitter who love this and will send you dozens upon dozens of replies.  They will not stop.  You will eventually just say, “I disagree” but they will continue to publish and publish and publish defenses of Calvinism along with attacks on you and your theology.  It doesn’t matter if you are an Arminian or not.  If you are not a Calvinist, you are wrong and they will not stop until you admit this or just stop posting on Twitter altogether (which is what I have done but not just for that reason alone).  

Recently, a notable internet Calvinist defender apologized for his attacks on a man whom he disagreed with.  This Calvinist had become so engrossed with personal attacks on the man that he begin to attack the son of the man.  Sadly, the son committed suicide just a few weeks later though the cyber bullying did not play a part in that.  I do wonder if something could have stopped this boy from killing himself had the Calvinist been praying for the family instead of attacking them relentlessly online?  What if the Calvinist was offering words of encouragement instead of criticism for everything the family did?  

Whether you are an Arminian or a Calvinist, please take to heart John 13:34-35.  I know that the guys on Twitter do not consider Arminians as Christians and this is how they justify their relentless attacks.  I know that the man above did not regard the man whom he was attacking as a brother in the Lord.  I have heard prominent Calvinist evangelists said that other non-Calvnist evangelists were not saved because they rejected Calvinism.  Even if you don’t believe that other people are Christians, 2 Timothy 2:24-26 should be taken to heart.  

My prayer is that I am not a cyber bully.  I don’t write much on any social sites.  For me, its such a waste of time to sit and debate online with people I can’t see or talk to in person.  I would gladly sit down with a Calvinist brother in a coffee shop and discuss theology but I will not waste my time going back and forth with 140 characters on Twitter or making a mockery of the name of Jesus in social media sites toward an unbelieving world who loves to watch Christians argue.  The world is gong to hell while we sit and argue over points that have been debated for 500 years.  While there is good that can come from good theological discussions, arguing does not produce these results.  

Frankly, I would rather go out and preach the gospel to the lost, read a good book, listen to some solid preaching, or just spend time with my family than to sit and have online debates.  Godly conversations seem to be lacking today.  May the Lord help us to be godly toward each other.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

08/13/2014 at 3:00 PM

