Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Disarming Arguments Against Evangelism (Introduction)

It is said that less than 2% of Christians ever share their faith.  While I would argue that not all who profess Christ are truly saved (Romans 9:6).  Many in the visible church are not truly baptized into the invisible church of God (1 Corinthians 12:13).  Many are still dead in their sins (Ephesians 2:1-3).  Many are still in the flesh and not walking with Christ (Galatians 5:16-17).  Charles Spurgeon was correct when he preached,

“You are either a missionary or a mission field.”

All true disciples of Jesus will have a hunger for the lost and a desire to preach the gospel to the lost (Matthew 28:19).  The reason for this passion is simple: we love Jesus and desire to obey His commandments (John 14:15; 1 John 5:3).  The heart of God is for the lost.  John 3:16 is clear on this.  1 Timothy 2:4 tells us that God “desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth” (NASB).  The heart of God, like His heart in Jeremiah 3:12-14 for faithless Israel, is for the lost to repent and believe the gospel (Mark 1:15).  While our evangelism methods might change from this person to that person (and not all are called to open air preach), our passion for the lost will not change.  It is the heart of God to spread the gospel (Matthew 9:36-38).  This was the heart of Paul the Apostle (2 Corinthians 5:10-11).

In all four Gospels, the Lord has revealed His heart for the lost.  Matthew 28:19-20; Mark 16:15-16; Luke 24:47; John 20:21.  All four Gospels call disciples to take the gospel to the lost.  This is the plan of God.  God could have chosen to reveal His gospel through angels but angels would not be able to preach out of conviction that God has saved them from His wrath.  God could have chosen to keep Jesus alive on the earth and people could see the risen Christ but this would not produce true, loving repentance.  Consider the fact that the Pharisees and the Romans both knew that Jesus had risen from the dead but did not repent.  Remember Jesus’ words in Luke 16:30-31.  The fact is that God has chosen to use redeemed sinners to tell other sinners the fact that Jesus is alive and that He saves.  This is His plan and we would do well to join in with Him in seeing sinner repent (2 Corinthians 6:1-2).

So while we know that God calls the Church to go and make disciples, we often fail to obey Him and evangelize.  One disciple called the Great Commission, the “great omission.”  We would pay money to others for them to do our evangelizing for us.  We think that because we give money to missions, this leaves us guiltless in regard to preaching the gospel to the lost.  The fact is that Jesus calls us all to make disciples.  Matthew 28:19 is not for professional Christians.  It is for us all.  Every true disciple is to make disciples.

Why don’t we then go and make disciples?  Why do we fail to evangelize?  What excuses do we offer to why we are not going out and making disciples?  I want to disarm those arguments and to give us biblical reasons to share our faith.  The Bible tells us in Proverbs 28:1 tells us that the righteous are bold as a lion.  In Acts 4:29 the disciples prayed that God would grant them boldness and Acts 4:31 tells us that the Holy Spirit gave them boldness to preach the gospel.  The promise of God in Acts 1:8 is the power of the Spirit to be witnesses for Christ.  2 Corinthians 5:20 calls us God’s ambassadors.

We have the promises of God but we still fail to preach the gospel to the lost.  I hear arguments against evangelism from Christians and I too have used those arguments to justify my own sin of obeying Christ’s command to go and make disciples.  I have tried to provide comfort to my flesh by listening to my own lies about not sharing my faith.  I too have reasoned in my own sinful heart about why I will not go and make disciples.  And then, to make things worst, I have grow angry at disciples who were out sharing their faith.  I have argued in my heart as to why they are wrong and I am not for being lazy in evangelism.

I want to disarm our false arguments to why we don’t share our faith.  I want to also provide biblical reasons as to why we should confront sinners with the gospel.  I want the Word of God to convict and yet equip us to preach the gospel to the lost.  I want to tell my own story along the way.  I have been a disciple since 1992 and have had some victories in evangelism and much failure along the way but I have learned much.  I want to share some of what I have learned.  I would love to tell you that I am a faithful witness for Christ on a daily basis.  I am not.  My heart, however, is to please God and to glorify Him through faithful proclamation of the gospel.  Along the way, I want to point others to the Bible as our final authority for our evangelism and for our own discipleship.  The Bible is our handbook for evangelism and when we study the Bible on evangelism, we learn much.  We must then take the Word of God and go and make disciples for the glory of God.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

08/01/2014 at 12:28 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This is part of a short series on arguments I often hear from people who are not sharing their faith in Christ and are not seeking to make disciples according to Matthew 28:19-20.  The posts are not in any given order. […]

  2. […] This is part of a series of posts on this subject.  You can find the first post here. […]


Comments are closed.

