Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Dr. Stanley Horton Has Gone Home

I was sad to hear that Dr. Stanley Horton passed away on July 12, 2014 at the age of 98.  Dr. Horton was a well-respected scholar with the Assemblies of God and he wrote many books including What the Bible Says about the Holy Spirit which was one of the first books I ever read on the Holy Spirit.  He also served in various educational capacities for the Assemblies of God before his retirement.

Dr. Horton continued to travel the world teaching the Bible up until age 92.  He was general editor of the Assemblies of God systematic theology text.

One a personal note.  When I was first saved in the early 1990’s (before the Internet), I had some theological questions so I wrote a letter to Dr. Horton.  To my surprise, he sat down and wrote me back in his own hand.  I have never forgotten that simple gesture toward this young disciple.

I rejoice that Dr. Horton is now resting in His Lord.  His faith has now been made sight.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

07/13/2014 at 4:12 AM

Posted in Books, Death

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you wanted “gesture” rather than “jester”. Feel free to delete this comment after you’ve read it.

    stephenwinters

    07/13/2014 at 8:44 AM


Comments are closed.

