Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

God’s Common Grace

This will be a short post.  I was blessed today by two men approaching me at work over issues to pray about.  I was blessed to hear from another guy about an act of kindness by his family toward him and his family.  All of these were unsaved people.  It showed me the goodness of God.  It showed me the mercy of God.  It showed me the common grace that God gives to people.

While I don’t deny that people abide under the wrath of God apart from Christ (Psalm 7:11; Romans 1:18), God’s love for the lost is still manifested.  It was seen at the cross (John 3:16; 1 John 4:9).  It is seen in the fact that God lets people live despite their sins.  God could kill sinners at any time if He wanted to and He would be just to do so for they have broken His law and rebel against Him (Genesis 38:7) yet He is good and loving toward this wicked world.  God would have every right to end it all now yet He is patient (2 Peter 3:9).

I rejoice that God is good even to the lost.  At times, despite their sins and blindness (2 Corinthians 4:4), the light of truth shines in a little and they see how good God is.  They understand, even if just for a moment, that their lives, their blessings, their laughter, their joy – all this comes from God alone.

May we preach the gospel to the lost so that they can fully know the truth of God and know His love in a saving sense (John 10:10; 1 John 4:10).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

07/08/2014 at 10:21 PM

