Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

The Point of Atheism

I had a run-in while out witnessing with an atheist named Jason.  Jason argued that everything we see evolved from lesser things though he had no answer to where the first lesser thing came from.  He reasoned that evolution is true because it is based on science and, according to him, has been verified over and over again as true.  When I asked him for any observable evidence for evolution, he did just what evolutionists do, he started citing millions of years ago.  When I said that I cannot see what happened millions of years ago, he grew frustrated and said that I live too short to observe evidence.

In the end, I told Jason that his faith was in science that was not observable by the way.  I too trust in God who created all things (Hebrews 11:3).  My faith is in a loving and good God who created all things and He created me as well.  While I was not there, God was there and He gave us His Word to tell us how He created and how long He created in Genesis 1-2.

The reality is that the point of atheism is simple: Romans 1:18:

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.

Atheists simply hate God because they love their sins.  This is the point of atheism.

Jason admitted that he had no hope.  He even told me he was sad that when his life ended it would just end and he would cease to exist.  I told Jason that the Bible says that he will stand before God after he dies (Hebrews 9:27) and give an account for his life.  Of course he rejected this and said that he would just cease to exist.

The truth is that when I observe a sunset and Jason observes a sunset, we both look at it through the lenses of a prior worldview assumption.  He looks at a beautiful sunset and he sees nothing more than randomness taking place.  He believes that nothing caused this sunset and it just exists by chance.  I look at the same sunset and see the hand of Yahweh (Psalm 19:1-6).  Jason has no hope.  I have hope.  Jason has no faith (well he does in Darwinian evolutionary theories) and I have hope in God.  Jason lives a pointless life.  I live a life where I seeking to not only love God but to help others to love Him along the way.  Jason does good to others (at least he said he does) just because he is a human who evolved from a lower substance but I do good because I am created in the image of a good God (Genesis 1:26-27).

Atheism doesn’t produce hope.  It produces death.  I don’t doubt that religion can be equally as evil but I am not calling people to a religion.  I am calling people to repentance and the truth in Christ (John 14:6).  I don’t want religious people.  I want disciples of Jesus (Matthew 28:19-20).  I want people to love Christ and obey Him as Lord (Luke 6:46-49; John 14:15).  I want people to bear the fruit of the Spirit by the work of the Spirit among them (Galatians 5:22-23) which is where true goodness comes from.  I want people to obey God and His moral law by His grace (Titus 2:11-12).

What does atheism produce?  Does it produce hope in people?  Does atheism lead to great human compassion and acts of kindness?  Where are the atheist groups feeding the poor, serving the sick and dying, giving hope to those who are struggling with life?  Where are the atheist hospitals?  Where are the large segment of atheists going forth defending life, morality, and purity?

The point of atheism is this: to hate God and love sin.  That is the simple point.  The point of atheism is cruelty.  The point of atheism is death.  The point of atheism is immorality.  The point of atheism is lawlessness.

For more information, check out this video from Ray Comfort.  It is eye-opening.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

06/29/2014 at 10:23 AM

