Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

When Reasoning With People, Quote Scripture

I am excited that in a few weeks they are having a large Jehovah’s Witnesses conference in our city.  Thousands of Jehovah’s Witnesses will be in town attending and I plan to go and preach the gospel to them.  I long to share the truth of Jesus with these lost souls who are so zealous for their false gospel.

In preparation for this evangelism event, I have been re-reading a few books that I have on the Jehovah’s Witnesses.  JW theology is twisted for those unfamiliar with it.  In essence, the average JW would claim that the Bible is their guide.  They would claim the Bible is the infallible Word of God.  Yet the JW’s look to the Watchtower Society in Brooklyn, New York as Jehovah’s organization on earth.  The Watchtower is God’s kingdom.  What the governing board dictates is what the average JW follows.  Thus JW’s spend hours reading not just their Bibles (New World Translation) but also the publications from the Watchtower Society.  These are viewed as Jehovah’s trumpets to speak for Him to this earth.

The average JW spends hours doing what they call “field work” or door-to-door witnessing.  They will spend hours a month handing out Watchtower and Awake! magazines which they believe come from God’s organization in Brooklyn.  Many JW’s dream of being a “pioneer” and often work jobs that allow them to spend more hours doing their field work.  Field work is the heart of the JW life.

Now let me establish some truths about JW’s.  First, it is not true that JW’s are vastly superior at quoting the Bible than disciples of Jesus.  I would grant you that the average JW knows more about their beliefs than the average evangelical but I am speaking here about true disciples of Christ and not just church goers.  True disciples of Christ abide in His Word (John 8:31) and hide His Word in their hearts (Psalm 119:11).  True disciples of Christ know that we will never see death if we keep His Word (John 8:51).  We also know that we must be in the Word of God to provide answers for our strong faith in Jesus (1 Peter 3:15).  Abiding in the Word of God also keep us saved (James 1:21).  It was by the Word of God that we first heard the gospel (Romans 10:17) and was saved (1 Peter 1:23; cf. 2 Thessalonians 2:13-14).

I have found that JW’s know topics and they have memorized topical studies but they don’t know the Bible.  They know parts of the Bible and have studied their own pet doctrines (as some evangelicals do) but they don’t spend time just reading the Bible.  They are not often familiar with looking at context of Scriptures and cannot quote the chapters but only a few verses from a chapter.  I met one JW who wanted to debate over the Greek in John 1:1.  He quoted the passage to me in Greek.  He then proceeded to try to give me a lesson in Greek on John 1:1 about it lacking the definite article.  I asked him if he knew how to read the Greek New Testament.  I then pulled out my Greek NT and asked him to read further.  He could not.  He had only memorized John 1:1 from lessons he had taken at his “society meetings.”  I showed him how the Greek article is lacking in several other passages  right in John 1.  He had no answer.  This is typical of JW’s.

I had another woman (and a “brother” with her) point to Matthew 24:14 and proceeded to tell me that only they, the Jehovah’s Witnesses, were doing what Jesus commanded here and were taking the gospel to the nations.  I asked her about the words of Christ here that the end would come.  She was emphatic that our world is heading toward the great battle of Armageddon when (satire here on my part) “Jehovah will slaughter everyone but faithful JW’s who have labored for His kingdom in Brooklyn, NY.”  The 144,000 will inherit heaven will faithful JW’s will inherit the earth.  I then asked her about Matthew 24:34.  I said, “Jesus said that all this in Matthew 24 would come upon that generation.  Which generation was He referring to?”  She had not heard that in her “society meetings” so she was unable to answer me.  The older “brother” stepped up and tried to answer me but he just rambled on to another subject (a common JW tactic).  I repeated my question about Matthew 24:34.  I pointed out that the same word was also used by Jesus in Matthew 23:36.  So which generation was Jesus speaking of ?

My point here is not to glorify my witnessing encounters with JW’s.  My point is to show that JW’s do not know the Bible like we think they do.  They know their beliefs.  They know parts of the Bible and again I grant you that they would run circles around the average evangelical.  But for true disciples of Christ who love Him and love His gospel, JW’s do not know the Bible in comparison.  We don’t need to be experts in knowing JW theology.  We really only need to know our own Bibles.  The Bible is able to cut down the lies of the JW’s.  When a JW tries to quote Scripture at you, use that!  Don’t be afraid to open the Bible and look at what the JW is saying and I promise you that if you love the Word of God, you’ll quickly see that they are in error in many ways.  Their ability to reason from the Scriptures apart from their dependence on “God’s organization” is zero.  The Bible is able to cut them deep (Hebrews 4:12-13) and to cast doubts on their ability to think rationally from just the Bible.

I hope that this encourages you to share the gospel with the Jehovah’s Witnesses.  They are good people who I believe truly want to know God.  They are just in error about Him, His salvation, His grace and mercy.  I have so much sympathy for them and I pray that as a group of us will be preaching to them at their conference, I pray that their eyes are opened to the truth of the gospel.  Please join me in praying for this as well.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

06/03/2014 at 11:44 AM

