Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

God, the Gospel, and the Homosexual Challenge

Here is a link to Dr. Al Mohler’s book, God & the Gay Christian?.  The book focuses on a biblical response to Matthew Vines who has challenged evangelicals over the issue of homosexuality and the gospel.  Vines argues that one can be a committed disciple of Jesus and yet still be a homosexual.  Dr. Mohler (and three other brothers) tackle this difficult subject with much grace and with the Word of God.

This issue will be (and has been) a key point in our culture.  People want to know what the Church of Jesus Christ believes about the issue of homosexuality.  Is it a sin?  Can one be a homosexual and still be a disciple of Christ?  Does the Bible condemn homosexuality or only certain forms of it?

I do pray that homosexuals will see the mercy of God in our preaching toward them and not hatred.  I certainly do not hate homosexuals and I only long for them to know the freedom that is in Christ Jesus.  I rejoice in the precious truths of the gospel because the gospel shows me more and more that I need Jesus every single day.  I am far from perfect!  I need His intercession (Hebrews 7:25) and without His grace, I would be lost.  It is only by His infinite grace that I am saved (Ephesians 2:8-9) and not because of who I am or what I have done (Titus 3:5-7).  May this be the message that we preach to all – that Jesus saves from sin (Matthew 1:21) and that He truly washes away our sins (1 Corinthians 6:9-11).  May our cry be John 6:37!

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/23/2014 at 2:22 AM

