Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

On Easter and Passover

I have always referred to this season that we celebrate the Lord Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross and then His resurrection from the dead as Passover.  I have always struggled with the term “Easter” as it just simply wasn’t in the New Testament and somewhere along the way, the beauty (and tragedy) of Exodus 12 seems lost to the modern Church because we have replaced it with Easter.  I understand that the Church still celebrates the sacrifice of Christ and His resurrection from the dead but it seems much is missing.

Next year I intend to have a Passover meal at our home.  I want my children and my friends to see the beauty of the Lamb of God (John 1:29) in the Passover meal (1 Corinthians 5:7).  The early disciples no doubt kept the biblical feasts with an eye on Jesus Christ as Lord and understood that they pointed to the reality of Christ Himself (Hebrews 10:1-4).  At some point in Church History, the Church begin to celebrate Easter and the glorious resurrection of Christ but stopped celebrating Passover altogether.

My hope is that I can show people the glory of Christ in the Passover meal.  One cannot read the Passover account in Exodus 12 and not see the Lord Jesus as the Lamb of God who was slain for us.  Christ was sacrificed on the cross at Passover and His death pointed back to the book of Exodus.

My hope also is to show that the biblical feasts point to the Lord Jesus (Leviticus 23).  They reveal Him in ways that we Gentiles often miss and I am guilty of that.  While only Christ saves us by His grace and not works of the law (Galatians 2:15-16), the Old Testament is a wonderful portrait of Jesus that we can miss if we fail to study it.  Paul the Apostle stated in 1 Corinthians 10:11 that the Old Testament was an example for us.  We can learn from the examples seen in the Old Covenant while praising God that we are saved under the New Covenant that Jesus brought to us by His own blood (Matthew 26:28; Hebrews 8:8-13).

In all this, my heart is not to return to Judaism but to worship the Lord Jesus and exalt Him for all that He has done in saving me from the wrath of God (Romans 5:1-11).  I want to see Him and know Him more and if this can happen by seeing Him in the Passover, I want to celebrate it with all my heart.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/21/2014 at 8:03 PM

