Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Do You Grow Weary With the Arminian-Calvinism Debate?

I had someone write and ask me this and my answer is: yes.  Arminianism and Calvinism doesn’t consume me though I do read a good bit of theology books.  I typically can be always found reading a theology book and it usually will revolve around the Arminian vs. Calvinism debate but only as a side note.  I enjoy reading theology books that focus on a subject such as God (theology proper) or salvation (soteriology).  My reading doesn’t typically focus on just the Arminian vs. Calvinist debate.

My theology reading actually is diverse.  I do enjoy reading some Calvinist theologians and writers.  For instance, I enjoy reading John MacArthur and John Piper though I don’t agree with them on every issue.  I enjoy reading dead Calvinists too such as Robert Murray M’Cheyne or Charles Spurgeon and even enjoy reading Calvin here and there.  I have been reading John Gill as of late.

My point here is not to glorify my reading but to just point out that I don’t make the Arminian vs. Calvinist issue a big deal for me.  Those who know me best will know that I often joke about being Arminian (such as yelling, “That is an Arminian song” after we sang “Jesus Loves the Little Children” at church).  I joke with my sister (who is Presbyterian) often about Calvinism.  I truly do enjoy my Calvinist brothers and sisters and believe them to be genuine followers of the Lamb.  I am not “anti-Calvinist” as some would believe a good Arminian must be.

In the end, salvation is the work of God by His grace (John 1:12-13; Ephesians 2:8-9).  God doesn’t save poor Arminians or poor Calvinists.  He saves sinners (1 Timothy 1:15-16).  Jesus said He came to seek and save the lost (Luke 19:10).  Jesus didn’t die for Arminians or Calvinists but for sinners (Isaiah 53:4-6).  That qualifies me (Romans 3:23).  It will be redeemed sinners who will be in heaven (Revelation 5:9-10) who have been saved by the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ.  For that, I rejoice!

The one thing we all must do as disciples of Jesus is to look to Jesus alone to save us (Hebrews 12:1-2).  Not to our Arminianism or Calvinism but to Jesus alone.  He said He was the way, the truth, and the life and that no one comes to the Father but through Him (John 14:6).  Friend, if you and I are to be found in glory it will be because of Christ and not because of Arminius or Calvin or Spurgeon or Wesley.  We are baptized only into Christ and not in a human being (1 Corinthians 12:12-13).  May we all make much about Him and His glory (2 Corinthians 4:5).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/11/2014 at 5:22 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think there is a danger in arguing pet doctrine. What happens then, is every time you read the Bible, you only think of the passage read in light of your pet doctrine, keeping you from seeing what is actually said. Not only am I weary of the debate, I have come to view it as destructive to sound theology and have attempted to back out of it so it does not cloud my reason to what God is saying in His Word.

    jeff

    04/12/2014 at 9:48 AM


Comments are closed.

