Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

A Baby Brings Joy!

I am the proud father of three boys.  My youngest son, Levi, turned 4 today.  What a joy he is to our home!

While reading in the book of Ruth during my devotions, Naomi returns from Moab to Bethlehem and there she complains that her life is bitter and for the people to call her Mara “for the Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me” (Ruth 1:20).  She went from Naomi (which means pleasant) to Mara (which means bitter).  Naomi was bitter of the loss of her husband and her loss of her two sons and her return in shame to Israel.

But the book of Ruth is a book that is full of hope.  In the midst of the turmoil of Judges, here is the story of Ruth who would eventually marry Boaz (Ruth 4:13) and she had a baby, Obed.  Obed would be the father of Jesse who would be the father of the greatest king in Israel, David.  And from David would come the promised Messiah, the King of kings, the Lord of lords, the One who would sit upon the throne of His father David forever (Luke 1:32-33).

Yet in the midst of all this, Naomi seems to be forgotten but in Ruth 4:14-16 we read:

14 Then the women said to Naomi, “Blessed be the Lord, who has not left you this day without a redeemer, and may his name be renowned in Israel! 15 He shall be to you a restorer of life and a nourisher of your old age, for your daughter-in-law who loves you, who is more to you than seven sons, has given birth to him.” 16 Then Naomi took the child and laid him on her lap and became his nurse.

I love verse 16!  How precious it is for a parent (or in this case, a grandparent) to take a baby and hold them.  I loved holding my baby boys and feeling their warm skin, their baby smell, and hearing them breathe.  I loved being close to them and protecting them.  Babies are so trusting, so loving, so forgiving.  They don’t care what you look like, how bad your day may have been, they just love you.

What I find precious about this story in Ruth is that Naomi doesn’t go back to calling herself Mara.  She remains Naomi.  Naomi is a much prettier name and I believe this baby boy named Obed brought her joy.  Babies do just that.

Isn’t it any wonder that the disciple of Jesus hates abortion!  Abortion murders a baby.  Yes abortion destroys the mother and scars her for life but it murders a baby and anyone who has held a baby (even a down syndrome baby or another handicapped baby) knows that children are precious.  Babies are truly a heritage from the Lord.

Psalm 127:3-5 (NKJV) reads:

3 Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord,
The fruit of the womb is a reward.

4 Like arrows in the hand of a warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.

5 Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them;
They shall not be ashamed,
But shall speak with their enemies in the gate.

And I say “amen” to that.  I praise God that He allowed me, this sinful fallen man, to have children and to be able to raise them in the fear of the Lord along with my precious wife.  I pray for my son Levi to be a great man after God’s own heart.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/08/2014 at 5:28 PM

