Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

On the Death of Steve Hill

I was sad to hear the death of Steve Hill, the controversial evangelist who led the Brownsville revival back in the mid 1990’s.  Hill was only 60 years old but had been battling cancer for the past few years.  His battle is over and he has won the victory (1 Corinthians 15:55).

I visited the Brownsville revival three times in the 1990’s and early 2000’s.  My first visit was in August of 1996.  I was a young 21-year-old man then and went with a critical spirit.  To that point I believed that the Brownsville revival was a joke and was not of God.  However, after staying for a week in Pensacola, I left seeing some bad and some good coming from the revival.  To this day I still believe that there was much flesh involved in the revival but I do know some men who are still saved and still in love with Jesus after getting saved at the revival meetings.

In those days, Hill was the most popular evangelist in the Pentecostal movement.  Every evangelist wanted to be like Hill.  They wanted his success in his altar calls, his anointing, his hunger for God.  Sadly, they often tried to mimic him rather than seeking God.

I heard Hill preach several times and once at the General Council meeting of the Assemblies of God in Orlando.  Hill’s message was not deep nor profound but simple: repent.  Hill preached hard on repentance of sin and turning from sin and living a holy life pleasing to the Lord.  Hill emphasized prayer and fasting.  His book, Time to Weepemphasized this point.  I enjoyed that book much.

While I didn’t agree with Hill on all issues and could write on the problems I saw at Brownsville, I do believe he loved the Lord Jesus.  He burned with fire for the lost.  He was not afraid to preach the gospel and for that, I am thankful.  You might disagree with Hill here and there but I rejoice that he did preach Christ and called people to repent.  I will rejoice with him in glory in due time.

)

Written by The Seeking Disciple

03/11/2014 at 12:46 PM

Posted in Revival

Tagged with , ,

