Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Short Thoughts on Biblical Discernment

It troubles me that we have “pastors” and “Bible teachers” doing interviews today and they debate the problems of our society or the social ills of our time by appealing to their feelings or their own thoughts.  Rather than standing on the Word of God for their thoughts, they often give their opinions and want other Christians to stand with them behind their feelings.  These mega-church leaders often work from a pragmatic perspective on social ills and will do whatever and say whatever in order to keep the masses (and the money I would add) flowing to them.  They talk about “demonstrating Jesus” and “being like Jesus toward those whom we disagree” but they never quote anything from the Word of God to back this up.  They simply assume that because they are a mega-church leader, we should just accept what they say.

What we need is to be biblically discerning.  We need to think biblically.  We need to question all things (and I do mean all things) by the Word of God.  Whether it be theological, social, historical, fiction, non-fiction, etc. we need to question everything by the authority of the Word of God.  The Bible alone inerrantly and powerfully speaks for God (2 Timothy 3:16-17).  The Bible alone is the authority by which we can speak for God (Ephesians 6:17).  The Bible sanctifies us by separating us from the false thinking of this world (John 17:17) and it keeps us from sin by showing us what God loves and what God hates.  The Bible faithfully reveals the mind of God to us (Psalm 119:15).  We are called to renew our minds (Romans 12:1-2) and this comes from meditating on the Word of God that cleanses us from sin (Ephesians 5:26).  The Word of God alone cuts deep into us (both saved and unsaved) according to Hebrews 4:12-13.  The Bible is our source of spiritual food (Matthew 4:4) and we are to hunger and thirst for it (1 Peter 2:1-3).  The Scriptures are Christ-centered and Christ-focused (John 20:31).

The Puritans prayed,

I thank Thee for the holy Scriptures,
their precepts, promises, directions, light.

In them may I learn more of Christ,
be enabled to retain His truth
and have grace to follow it.

Help me to lift up the gates of my soul
that He may come in
and show me Himself when I search
the Scriptures,
for I have no lines to fathom its depths,
no wings to soar to its heights.

By His aid may I be enabled to explore
all its truths,
love them with all my heart,
embrace them with all my power,
engraft them into my life.

Bless to my soul all grains of truth garnered
from Thy Word;
may they take deep root,
be refreshed by heavenly dew,
be ripened by heavenly rays,
be harvested to my joy and Thy praise.

Help me gain profit by what I read,
as treasure beyond all treasure,
a fountain which can replenish my dry heart,
its waters flowing through me as a perennial river
on-drawn by Thy Holy Spirit.

Enable me to distill from its pages faithful prayer
that grasps the arm of Thy omnipotence,
achieves wonders, obtains blessings,
and draws down streams of mercy.

From it show me how my words have often been
unfaithful to Thee,
injurious to my fellow-men,
empty of grace, full of folly,
dishonoring to my calling.

Then write Thy own words upon my heart
and inscribe them on my lips;
So shall all glory be to Thee
in my reading of Thy Word!

I pray that I too would have a heart that longs for the Word of God and that the Word of God would be my guide, my sword, my hammer, my operating tool to cut out my own sins.  I pray that the Church of Christ Jesus would love the Word of God, proclaim the Word of God, evangelize by the Word of God, and allow the Word of God to dominate our very lives in all areas.  We must be biblically trained, biblically discerning, and biblical in all ways to stand firm for the gospel.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

02/28/2014 at 9:55 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A couple of decades ago I was an expert in quoting scripture to back up what I was saying. Sadly those quotes were rarely given in their correct biblical context. I’d merely learned them from preachers who quoted them regularly in their sermons.

    Therefore I have learned that quoted bible texts don’t really give genuine scriptural authority to a man’s teaching and I’d rather hear a man who doesn’t quote texts but whose teaching is proven to be scriptural through my on-going reading and study of scripture.

    Too many are easily swayed by the all too common misuse of biblical quotes because so few address scripture (in context) for themselves.

    Onesimus

    03/02/2014 at 6:56 PM

    • I agree. We need to take time to actually examine what someone is saying or writing and not just accept it at face value.


Comments are closed.

