Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Apostasy (or Whatever) is Always Tragic

I have been a disciple of Jesus since 1992.  Over those years I have seen many people come and go in regard to Christianity.  I could tell you one sad story after another of people who fell away from the faith.  We could debate whether they were ever saved to begin with but what is the point?  Apostasy (or whatever) is always tragic.  It should break our hearts to meet “former” Christians who once seemed to love the Lord, hungered for His presence, spent countless hours in prayer, and witnessed to others.  Some of my friends who have fallen away include men who once preached the gospel (whether they were saved is another issue but they did preach the gospel in truth).  I have known guys I went to college with who once loved to gather and pray and today they are shells of what they once were.  I have had friends ruin their marriages by adultery and left their wives for other women (and their faith as well).

Apostasy is always tragic.  Whether you deny they were saved or not, let’s agree here that they must repent.  We long for them to repent!  I pray you do.  We should not gloat over a person falling away from Christ.  We should weep and it should warn us as well (1 Corinthians 10:12).

Humility must be maintained when it comes to how we view “former” Christians.  Proverbs 16:18 reads, “Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.”  Proverbs 18:12 reads, “Before destruction a man’s heart is haughty, but humility comes before honor.”  Galatians 6:1 reminds us to watch ourselves when we are dealing with someone caught in any transgression.  Galatians 6:3 is clear: “For if anyone thinks he is something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself.”  We must guard against the temptation to look down on those who fall away.  We can become prideful and think that we will never sin like they have sinned.  We boast they were are secure in Christ and that  nothing will ever turn us away from following Jesus (like Peter in Matthew 26:33).  But beware of this. Beware of pride and an attitude that says, “I will never fall into the same sin they did.”

I assure you that those who have turned away from Christ, at some point, probably never dreamed they would.  I can still remember the prayers of one man I know who fell away and how earnest he was in his prayers.  This man would go witnessing with me in college.  He would often cry out for revival in our nation.  Yet today he is living in complete rebellion against God.  He wants nothing of the kingdom.  Nothing!  He claims to be agnostic now and believes Christianity to be nothing more than a joke.  Yet if I could go back to 1996 and talk to this man I am sure he would have said that he loved Jesus, would never fall away and would assure you that he would always be a child of God.

I am not writing this to scare you or myself.  I pray daily for the Lord to help me hate sin.  I don’t want to sin (1 John 2:1).  I want to be holy (1 Peter 1:15-16).  Yet I see that it is easy to slip into pride and think that I won’t fall away from Christ.  I won’t give in to sin.  I will be strong when temptation comes. I will stand secure in Christ.  I pray that I will but I must rest in Christ alone to help me.  I cannot overcome sin by my will power.  I cannot overcome sin by promises.  I overcome sin by the grace of God (Titus 2:12).  I remain steadfast in Christ through faith in Him and a focus upon Him (Hebrews 12:1-2).  I fear Him lest I deny Him (Romans 11:20-22).

I don’t live in insecurity.  I do trust the promises of God to keep me (Jude 24-25) but I also look to Jesus alone to help me overcome (1 John 5:1-4).  I know that I am not saved by my works but by faith in the Lord Jesus Christ who died to save me (Romans 5:1; Ephesians 2:8-9; Titus 3:4-7).  My salvation is found only in Jesus Christ (John 14:6; Acts 4:12; 1 Timothy 2:3-6) and I rest in His work (John 19:30; Hebrews 10:10, 14) knowing that He saved me and He is sanctifying me for His glory (Ephesians 1:3-14).

For those we know who have turned away from Christ, let us pray for them to repent.  Whether they were never saved to begin with is another issue altogether.  We believe that a person is saved through Christ Jesus but they must remain in Christ to be saved and remain saved.  Even my Calvinist brethren teach that a person who does not persevere in the faith is not a true disciple of Jesus and I agree.  A true disciple of Jesus is one who keeps their eyes on Jesus and looks to Him alone to save them, to keep them, and to give them eternal life (John 8:51).  Let us pray for those who have turned away to truly come to know this Savior and find rest in Him.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

02/16/2014 at 8:07 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Apostasy is always tragic. Whether you deny they were saved or not, let’s agree here that they must repent. We long for them to repent!

    Spot on. We want them to return to Christ. That is the most important thing. It’s sad when it turns into a spiritual point scoring contest over whether they were actually saved or not. First and foremost we want them back in relationship with Christ.


Comments are closed.

