Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Thoughts on Charlie Strong to Texas

I want to add here that I think the hire of Louisville head coach Charlie Strong to Texas is a good hire.  Strong was the defensive coordinator for South Carolina when Lou Holtz was the head coach.  His defenses were great and he went on to do a great job as the defensive coordinator for Florida and then did a good job as the head coach at Louisville.  When South Carolina head coach Steve Spurrier decides it is time to retire, I thought Strong would be a great candidate to replace Spurrier.

Texas is getting a good coach and one that I will cheer for.  I liked Mack Brown and thought he did a good job while at the University of Texas but Texas had lost its luster the last few years.  With all the resources Texas offers both in facilities and in recruiting, I believed Texas should have been a power year in and year out.  For some reason, they were not.  Brown was recruiting well it seemed but the player development was lacking.  Further, Oklahoma and Texas A&M seemed to be moving ahead of Texas and Baylor was catching up.  Even Texas Tech and TCU were now competing with Texas.  That seems odd given that Texas should own the state of Texas.

Strong is a solid man.  I don’t know if he is a Christian or not.  He had a lovely family.  Some have felt that his skin color kept him from getting looked at by schools (Strong is black).  I even read where some didn’t like the fact that he is married to a white woman.  I believe Strong should be seen not for the color of his skin or that he is married to a white woman but merely for the fact that he is a winner.  He wins.  He wins honorably.  He does not cheat (as far as I know).

Texas is getting a solid coach in Charlie Strong.  Again, I had hoped he would come to South Carolina some day but Texas simply is the better job (as this point).  Strong will build a solid team in Austin and the Texas fans will have much to cheer from.  I predict he will have the Longhorns playing for a national title in the near future and unless he is playing South Carolina, I will cheer for him and the Horns.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

01/05/2014 at 2:55 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First time I’ve ever heard an SEC fan praise a Big 12 school. 😉

    Kevin Jackson

    01/06/2014 at 12:27 PM


Comments are closed.

