Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Jesus is My Hope

I have thought hard about why a person would want to end their life.  I know that great men of God in the Bible often prayed for God to take their life (Numbers 11:15; Job 3:20-23; Jonah 4:3) and even Paul the Apostle understood that it was better to depart to be with Christ (Philippians 1:20-23) but none of these men committed suicide to obtain that goal.  I too have wanted to die before.  Not from pain but mainly just to be with Jesus.  This world can be so full of despair and agony as you watch sin abound, as you watch the devil attack those you love, and as you watch people reject the gospel.  The church here in the United States often can a place of misery as well as the church can be bent on money and success instead of caring for the saints and building each other up (1 Corinthians 14:26).  I personally have been attacked by pastors who were all about business instead of helping.  These men did what was best for them and their needs and not the saints.

Life can be hard.  Life can be depressing.

But what keeps me going, what keeps me lifting my head is the knowledge that Jesus is my hope.  I have faith in the sovereignty of God.  I have faith that Romans 8:18 is true.  I have faith that Romans 8:28 is true.  I have faith that Romans 8:24-25 is true.  I have faith that Jesus keeps me and He sustains me.  I am able to worship because  of Him.  I am able to keep breathing, keep working, keep praying, keep reading my Bible all because of Jesus.  Jesus gives me hope.

Job found encouragement in his God.  Job longed for death to come to him after all that he had gone through (Job 1:13-20; 2:7-8).  Yet the Bible is clear that Job did not give up hope in God (Job 1:22; 2:10).  Job’s faith remained despite all that he went through.  Job lost everything yet he was confident in the Lord his God.  Job drew closer to the Lord in the midst of his trails.  So should we.  As we suffer through life, draw close to the Lord and He will sustain us.  He will uphold us by His power (Psalm 55:22).

Speaking of Psalm 55.  David trusted God through it all.  Unlike King Saul, who committed suicide in 1 Samuel 31:4, David grew closer to the Lord and increased in strength (1 Samuel 30:6).  In Psalm 55:23, David prays to God:

But you, O God, will cast them down into the pit of destruction;  men of blood and treachery shall not live out half their days.  But I will trust in you.

The unusual deaths of Absalom (2 Samuel 18:9-15) and the suicide of Ahithophel (2 Samuel 17:23) were perhaps what David had in mind as he wrote Psalm 55:23 under the inspiration of the Spirit.  Absalom was dead.  Ahithophel was dead.  But David would trust in the Lord.  David’s faith was that God would see him through all his days.  And God did (1 Kings 2:10).

I pray that while many around me abandon faith in Christ and live lives of compromise, I pray that I would trust in the Lord like David.  Like Job.  James 5:11 even calls us to imitate Job’s perseverance.  We need not grow in despair but we need to draw closer to Jesus and realize that He will keep us.  He will never forsake us (Matthew 28:20; Hebrews 13:5).  If we will draw near to God, He will draw near to us (James 4:8).  The reluctance is not on God’s part but our own.

Hope exists in Jesus.  He is the keeper and sustainer of my soul (Psalm 121:7-8).  As Jude 24-25 reads:

Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.

Or as Romans 8:38-39 reads:

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Jesus is faithful and He gives me a reason to live.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

12/11/2013 at 11:58 AM

