Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

A Good Point of My Job (Intercession)

Paul urged us in 1 Timothy 2:1-7 to pray for all people and specifically because He desires to save all people (v.4). In view of this, one point of my job (driving a truck) is that I pass through many towns and cities.  When I do this, I pray for these towns.  I pray that God will glorify His name in these towns and that He would send forth His gospel that saves sinners.  I pray for God to raise up Spirit-filled evangelists who will preach His Word and declare His truth to a lost generation.  I hunger for God to glorify His name in the midst of these towns.

How wonderful it is to pray for the lost.  We have the assurance of God’s Word that He hears our cries (Hebrews 4:14-16).  We have a Father in heaven who loves us and has demonstrated His love toward us by sending His Son to bear our sins and save us from the wrath to come (Romans 5:8-9).  In light of the gospel, I pray through the gospel for the lost to be saved (Romans 10:1).

I urge you all, if you are saved through grace (Ephesians 2:8-9; Titus 3:5-7) to pray for the lost.  Pray for your family members, co-workers, friends, classmates, and even strangers to be saved.  This is good and pleasing in the eyes of God.

Charles Spurgeon said,

“If we cannot prevail with men for God, we will, at least, endeavor to prevail with God for men. We cannot save them, or even persuade them to be saved, but we can at least bewail their madness and entreat the interference of the Lord. Like Jeremiah, we can make it our resolve, ‘If ye will not hear it, my soul shall weep in secret places for your pride, and mine eye shall weep sore and run down with tears.’ To such pathetic appeals the Lord’s heart can never be indifferent; in due time the weeping intercessor will become the rejoicing winner of souls.”

Written by The Seeking Disciple

11/12/2013 at 6:57 AM

