Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

A Day in the Life of a Pentecostal-Charismatic

Let me give you a look into the day in the life of a Pentecostal.  This will be approached two ways, the first will be the way that many from the Strange Fire Conference believe a Pentecostal is like and then the truth.

A Day in the Life of a Pentecostal

8 AM – Rise and get down on your knees to receive direct revelation from God.

8:30 AM – Get up and obey the voice of God that directly spoke to you.

10 AM – Open your Bible and find a verse out of context to support what God said to you.

11 AM – While at work, you see an angel who tells you what to eat for lunch.

12 PM – Obey the angel and eat at the local deli.

12:30 PM – While at deli you see a sick woman come in, you go over and pray for her but she is not healed.

1 PM – You blog about praying for this sick woman because you were told to do so by an angel.

2 PM – You get an e-mail on your work computer from the Holy Spirit.  You read and obey.

3 PM – You send in your seed offering to the pastor who sent you the e-mail from the Spirit.

5 PM – On the drive home you listen to crazy rock music that talks a bit about God.  You call this worship.

6 PM – Your children arrive home from soccer practice and you speak blessings over them.

7 PM – Time to watch TBN and grow in the Lord.

9 PM – Shower and shave with Jesus sitting there talking to you about your day.

10 PM – You go to sleep by ending it with hearing from God yet again.  Sometimes God talks too much.

Overnight – You dream dreams from God.

Now let me give you the truth.

My Life

9 AM – I like to sleep in.  I get up and read my Bible while eating cereal.

10 AM – Check my e-mail.  Respond if necessary.

12:30 PM – Lunch with the family.

1:30 PM – Maybe take a nap?

3 PM – Play outside with the boys.

5 PM – Eat dinner with the family.

6 PM – Read.  Read.  And more reading.

8 PM – Blog if I have time but spend time with my wife and more reading mostly on my Kindle.

10 PM – Go to bed.  Dream crazy dreams from time to time but have not thought about whether they were from God or not.  Most come from what I have been reading which lately has been Westerns.

Now all of this changes from day-to-day because of my type of work (I drive a truck).  But you can see what is said about Pentecostals and the reality.  In reality, my family and I do not watch any TV and we spend much of our day together.  I help my wife homeschool our boys and we enjoy being together.  Our church family is also important to our lives.  My fun is reading.  When I am on a roll, I can read several books a month.  I have never heard the voice of God apart from hearing His voice daily in His Word (John 8:47; 10:27; Hebrews 12:25).  I have had some strange experiences and I can’t explain it all but my life is not marked by strange fire nor strange occurrences.  But I do long for my life to be marked by the presence and power of God.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

11/02/2013 at 5:53 PM

Posted in Humor

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is so cool. I watched 4-5 hours of the conference on YouTube and wondered who in the world he was talking about. It sure was not me.

    pastor724

    11/02/2013 at 8:33 PM

  2. Good morning. I consider myself a 5-pointer. 🙂 However, you might it ironic that I subscribe to yur blog and read it every day. Mostly because I have found that everyone has a hole in their system. I owuld rather serve with the Body of Christ, of all edemoniations than stand in pride and watch the Gospel advance from the sidelines. Bless you Brother, I w0onder if we in the reformed community eschew ALL fire, mistaking all of it for strange fire.

    Todd

    11/04/2013 at 8:09 AM

    • Wow, please excuse the typos.

      Todd

      11/04/2013 at 8:10 AM

    • Thanks brother. I also subscribe to many Calvinist brothers myself. I enjoy reading their blogs even if I don’t always agree. I recognize that salvation is through Christ alone and not because we are Arminians or Calvinists.

      Thanks for following and for being my brother.


Comments are closed.

