Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Preparing for Romans 9

I am preparing an entire series coming up on the blog on Romans 9.  My prayer is to be biblical, to offer correct exegesis of the chapter, and to provide Arminians with a look into this controversial chapter.  Calvinists have used Romans 9 for years to prove the doctrine of unconditional election and many Arminians have tripped over this chapter.  Dr. R.C. Sproul even stated that for the first five years of his salvation, he too was an Arminian but he couldn’t get around Romans 9 and so he surrendered with his head to Calvinism but not his heart until later.

I will be using several Bible commentaries to help me work through the chapter including F.F. Bruce, Jack Cottrell, and Vic Reasoner.  I also hope to add Matthew Henry and Adam Clarke in there as well.  Romans 9 is a wonderful chapter that has confused many.  I pray that we can all learn from Romans 9 even if you disagree with me over Arminianism.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

10/28/2013 at 12:18 PM

Posted in Romans 9

Tagged with ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Best wishes with your Romans 9 project.

    Bob Hunter

    10/28/2013 at 12:42 PM

  2. Congratulations. May you experience God’s blessings as you follow Him together.

    Wesley G Vaughn

    10/28/2013 at 1:59 PM

  3. What are your recommendations for an overall Romans commentary with an Arminian emphasis?

    pastor724

    10/28/2013 at 4:04 PM

    • The two best are Vic Reasoner’s commentary, A Fundamental Wesleyan Commentary on Romans, and Jack Cottrell’s commentary on Romans published by College Press.

      • Thanks…I just added Cottrell’s commentary to my Logos collection. I will finish teaching Acts in December (56 messages over two years) and am going to start Romans in 2014. This Blog is a real blessing my friend. …Mike

        pastor724

        10/28/2013 at 6:04 PM

      • Glad to know you are an expositor. We need more of this. Reasoner’s commentary on Romans is harder to get as you have to order it from Fundamental Wesleyan Press but it is worth it. Well done and very extensive. God bless you too my brother!

      • I did order Reasoner’s commentary through Amazon and then tacked it back to their publishing web site.

        pastor724

        10/29/2013 at 12:57 PM

    • You will enjoy Reasoner’s work.

  4. Looking forward to it!

    Kevin Jackson

    10/28/2013 at 5:59 PM

  5. Fantastic! I’m looking forward to this series. May God bless your richly as you dig deep into the truths of God!

    Travis

    10/29/2013 at 1:30 AM

  6. I’m looking to reading these posts. Thanks for the work you put into this, it’s helpful to be able to come here and find Arminian exegesis.

    markblock

    10/30/2013 at 8:27 AM


Comments are closed.

