Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Book Review: Killing Calvinism by Greg Dutcher

I am slow at getting to this review.  This book is not a massive book at all and in fact is a quick read.  I suppose one could read it in just a couple of days at only 122 pages.  With the amount of reading I had on other subjects, along the way Killing Calvinism was pushed back and forth.  Yet I say that to write that I should have kept reading.  This book is a well thought out book that I enjoyed much.  Brother Dutcher loves Calvinism but I appreciated his heart for loving the gospel more and for seeing what I (an Arminian) already see, that Jesus is our salvation and not a system of theological thought from a sinful man in the 16th century.  While I appreciate much about Calvinism, I admit that I am no Calvinist and that I often write against Calvinism for its inconsistencies.  That said, I enjoyed Dutcher’s honesty about Calvinism and about how he (and others) have loved Calvinism more than Christ Himself.  We Arminians should read this book not just to see Dutcher’s heart but to be honest with ourselves and love Christ more than Arminius.  Again, Jesus is our Savior and we must love Him more than our systems (Colossians 3:1-4).

The chapters of this book are great titles themselves.  The chapters fit into how to kill Calvinism:

  • By Loving Calvinism as an End in Itself
  • By Becoming a Theologian Instead of a Disciple
  • By Loving God’s Sovereignty More Than God Himself
  • By Losing an Urgency in Evangelism
  • By Learning Only from Other Calvinists
  • By Tidying Up the Bible’s “Loose Ends”
  • By Being an Arrogant Know-It-All
  • By Scoffing at the Hang-ups Others Have with Calvinism

Each chapter stays on target and Dutcher does not chase rabbits along the way.  His stories of honest moments for him as a Calvinist are well worth the time to read.

All of these chapters are titles that we Arminians can learn from.  I pray that I don’t love Arminianism above the gospel.  I pray that I can learn from others including my Calvinist brothers and sisters.  I pray that I see that being an Arminian does not necessarily mean that I am a disciple of Jesus.  Jesus calls me to love Him (John 14:15) and to follow after Him.  Arminianism may or may not help me to follow Christ but the end of my journey should be to follow Christ always and not the ways of the flesh nor of man (1 John 2:15-17).

Overall this is a solid book that should be read by all.  Both Arminians and Calvinists will learn from Dutcher.  I do recommend this work.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

10/25/2013 at 10:59 AM

