Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Looking to Jesus (Hebrews 12:1-2)

Today was just a bad day.  If it could go wrong, it did.  I drive a truck for a living and was broke down for over 9 hours.  Then I drove a man’s care back to my work after he came to take over the route for me only to break down in his car with a dead battery.  What should have been a relative easy day turned into one of those bad days.

In comparison, I know there are many more worst things that could have happen.  One man (not a believer by the way) replied to me, “Hey, it could have been worst.  You could have been killed in the truck.”  That put my day into perspective.

Forgive me for my complaining (1 Thessalonians 5:18).  Today was one of those days where I just didn’t “feel” saved.  It wasn’t that I was seeking to grieve the Spirit of God (Ephesians 4:30) but I just wasn’t feeling too sanctified today.  I wanted to just go home and do nothing.  I didn’t want to read my Bible.  I didn’t want to pray.  I didn’t want to do anything.  I just wanted to sit.

Thankfully I have a faithful high priest who understands my struggles (Hebrews 4:14-16).  The more I walk with Jesus the more I realize that I need His grace each and every day.  I need Him to help me live a holy life (Hebrews 12:14).  I need His grace to help me to be a faithful witness for His glory and honor (Titus 2:11-14).  I need His grace to help me when I fall short of the glory of God (Hebrews 7:25; 9:14).  My salvation is based on the work of Jesus and by grace through faith I am saved (Acts 15:11; Ephesians 2:8-9).  This grace is at work in my life to stand firm for the gospel in spite of my flesh, the world, or the devil.  God’s grace is there to help me be more like Christ (Romans 6:1-23).  That is my heart’s cry.  I hate my sins.  I despise my flesh and my laziness.  I long to honor the  Lord Jesus in all that I say or do (Colossians 3:17) but I do fall short of His perfection (Mark 12:29-31).

The cure for all this is to keep my eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith (Hebrews 12:1-2).  1 John 1:7 speaks of this daily cleansing like this:

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

The Greek tense of 1 John 1:7 is such that this cleansing is not just a one time cleansing but an ongoing cleansing.  The blood of Jesus cleanses me and continues to cleanse me.  He is making me holy by His grace (Hebrews 10:10, 14; cf. 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24).  I hear His call to holiness (1 Peter 1:15-16) and I long to be pure and holy.  While I do fall short (James 3:2), His grace is there to help me get up and continue to strive for holiness.

Praise God for His enabling and powerful grace!

For more on this I recommend the book by Charles Spurgeon, All of Grace.  

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. God bless you, your faith is an inspiration to others!

    bethyada

    09/16/2013 at 4:04 AM


Comments are closed.

