Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

How To Find Joy in Our Salvation

Salvation is a free gift of God given to those who repent and believe the gospel (Romans 6:23).  Salvation cannot be earned (Ephesians 2:8-9).  Salvation comes through Christ alone (John 14:6) who alone is our mediator before a holy and just God (1 Timothy 2:5-6).  Salvation is not found in our “good” works (Isaiah 64:6; Titus 3:5-7).  Salvation is not found in being  a part of a religious group (Jehovah’s Witnesses, a church of any kind, religion in general).  Salvation is found through faith in Christ alone through faith alone (Romans 4:5).

If this is the case and we are saved by God’s grace through faith, why do we often lack joy in our salvation.  I believe it comes because we fail to preach the gospel to ourselves.  The very subtle thinking can creep into our minds that we are saving ourselves.  We begin to think that our salvation is dependent upon our merits, our works, our laws.  In my mind I begin to think that I must read the Bible this much or I do not love God nor am saved.  I begin to think that I must witness to so many people or I am not saved.  This thinking is not from the Lord nor from the Word.  It flows from my own prideful flesh and the enemy who attacks the child of God for their faith in Jesus.  Like those in Galatians 3:1-5, it is easy to begin to think that I am now being perfected by the flesh.  I lose my joy in my salvation when I begin to think that my salvation comes from me instead of preaching the truth of God to myself and seeing that I am only saved because of the work of Christ alone (Hebrews 10:10, 14).

We find joy in our salvation when we stop focusing on us and start looking at Christ (Hebrews 12:1-2).  Christ, and not us nor anyone else, should be the object of our faith.  He is our salvation (1 Corinthians 1:30-31).  Jesus and not a plan nor a movement nor a theological position is what saves us (1 Corinthians 15:1-4).  Our focus must be Christ for He is our life (Colossians 3:1-4).  When Christ becomes our focus, the joy of the Lord fills our souls as we realize that our salvation is based on His work and not ours (John 19:30).  Jesus bore our sins on the cross (Galatians 1:4; Ephesians 1:7; Colossians 1:14; 1 Peter 2:21-25; 1 John 1:7; 2:1-2).  All I have before God is not based on my prayer life, my Bible study, my evangelism, my own steadfastness.  All I am before God is based on Christ and His grace (Acts 15:11).  Christ is the one who saves me and keeps me (Romans 8:34; Hebrews 7:25).  Christ is the one who alone is the one that I should look to for my salvation (John 3:14-15).

Joy flows from the gospel.  Joy comes from knowing that my salvation is not from me or through me.  Salvation is all of grace through Christ (2 Corinthians 5:18-21).  Salvation fills my heart with joy because I know that I have peace with God through Christ alone (Romans 5:1).  I pray because of my standing before God through the gospel (Hebrews 4:14-16).  I read and study my Bible because I long to know this Savior who saved me (John 17:3).  I share my faith because I want to see God glorified among the nations (Psalm 2:10-12).  I seek God earnestly not to find salvation but to know the One who saved me through faith in the Lord Jesus, His one and only Son that He gave for my sins (John 1:12-13).  I want to know Christ because He took hold of me (Philippians 3:8-11).

Charles Spurgeon preached the truth of this when he said,

Every day keep your eye only on Christ; and so long as your eye is single, your whole body must and shall be full of light. But if you once look cross-eyed, first to yourself and then to Christ, your whole body shall be full of darkness. Remember, then, Christian, to hide away to the cross. When that great black dog of hell is after you, away to the cross! Go where the sheep goes when he is molested by the dog; go to the shepherd. The dog is afraid of the shepherd’s crook; you need not be afraid of it, it is one of the things that shall comfort you. “Thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” Away to the cross, my brothers! away to the cross, if thou wouldest get rid of thy doubts. Certain I am, that if we lived more with Jesus, were more like Jesus, and trusted more to Jesus, doubts and fears would be very scarce and rare things, and we should have as little to complain of them as the first emigrants in Australia had to complain of thistles; for they found none there, and none would have been there if they had not been carried there. If we live simply by faith on the cross of Christ, we live in a land where there are no thistles, but if we will live on self, we shall have plenty of thistles and thorns, and briers, and nettles growing there. “They looked unto him, and were lightened.”

Oh saint of God, find joy in your journey toward the celestial city through the gospel that saves you and keeps you!  Christ alone is our salvation and we find our joy in Him!

Written by The Seeking Disciple

08/24/2013 at 10:32 PM

Posted in Salvation

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think one of the things that destroys joy is lack of fruit from salvation. I get how great it is to be saved, but then I start looking at my so-called fruit–how many I am helping, how many have I witnessed to, how many have I helped grow and I get discouraged because it doesn’t seem like much. At the same time, I can get joy from seeing fruit and yet lose my joy in salvation and instead have joy based on temporal seemingly spiritual (and it even might be) but still based on something other than my salvation. Reminds me of the disciples rejoicing in all their ministry success and Jesus dropping “in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven” on them!

    jeff

    08/28/2013 at 11:12 AM


Comments are closed.

