Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Why Are There No Arminians on the Gospel Transformation Bible Committee?

If you click this link, you’ll find a list of contributors to Crossway’s new ESV study Bible, The Gospel Transformation Bible.  I was excited when I first saw this Bible coming out as I love the gospel and love the emphasis that this study Bible was to place on all 66 books of the Bible upon the gospel itself.  So many fail to see the beauty of the gospel in the Old Testament especially.

But I was sad to see not one Arminian (that I am aware of) in the list of the contributors.  Instead the contributors are all Calvinists.  I know that Crossway is largely a Calvinistic publishing group, but I was sad to see that Crossway did not look to Arminians to help with this study Bible.  Why only Calvinists?  I know that some Calvinists will insist that Calvinism is the pure gospel and that Calvinists, above all others, love the gospel.  But is this honest and true?  I don’t think so.  I have read many works by both Arminius and by Arminians and I see nothing but a love for the gospel, a hunger to see people saved, and a zeal for the truth of God’s Word about this great salvation.

Oddly a few Calvinists even claim that they are in the minority when it comes to the Church.  In fact, they actually believe that Arminianism is the dominant theology in the evangelical church.  This study Bible would speak otherwise.

In fairness, Crossway should have involved non-Calvinists in this study Bible.  Do only Calvinists represent the gospel?  Do Lutherans?  Do Arminians?  Do other non-Calvinists?  Again, I know that some Calvinists will say that they alone represent the truth of the gospel and love the work of Christ.  But I assert that this is both blind and wrong.

I again call for Crossway to balance this and start an Arminian study Bible that reflects the teachings of Arminius and turn the tide in the amount of study Bibles and books that bolster Calvinism.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

08/19/2013 at 5:59 PM

Posted in Books

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The purpose of study Bibles is not to be representative — its to indoctrinate.

    james jordan

    08/19/2013 at 6:11 PM

  2. While I appreciate your criticism of the ESV Study Bible and your appeal to Crossway, I don’t share in the latter.

    After obtaining a copy of ESV Study Bible, I expressed my dissatisfaction with its promotion of Calvinism to Crossway. However since then ESV Study Bible has become my favourite study Bible because of its overall excellence. I find it easy to refer to one of my other study Bibles to obtain Arminian interpretations of passages in which the ESV Bible notes promote Calvinism. Thus I don’t see the need for Crossway to include Arminian interpretation in ESV Studu Bible or to produce another study Bible with Arminian notes.

    Bob Hunter

    08/20/2013 at 1:17 AM

    • I enjoy the ESV Study Bible. I don’t always agree with their notes. At times, the notes do seem to lean Calvinistic as you point out (see their notes on Acts 13:48 with the subsequent chart listed on the same page). But overall, I do use the ESV Study Bible and am thankful for it.

      Thanks Bob for your comments. Very good indeed.

  3. I don’t think Calvinists know that Arminians can be scholarly and might know Greek and Hebrew since all Arminians do is use emotional appeals.

    jeff

    08/21/2013 at 1:06 PM


Comments are closed.

