Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

God is the Gospel

Romans 1:1 uses the term, “the gospel of God.”  This is a fitting term for the gospel.  The gospel is not about rules.  The gospel is not about morality.  The gospel is not about our efforts to obtain moral perfection or to overcome our sins.  The gospel is not about Jesus saving us in the past on the cross only to leave sanctification up to us.  The gospel, from the beginning to the end, is all about God.  The focus of the gospel is not on us at all but upon the Lord Jesus Christ and what He has done in securing our salvation.

That said, I fear that some may learn to love the term “gospel” without really loving the Who (and not the band) of the gospel.  The gospel must not be reduced to mere knowledge about Jesus.  The gospel must be all about God.  When I say that I love the gospel, I want that to mean that I love God.  When I say that the gospel is what motivates me, I want that to mean that Jesus is my Lord in every area of my life.  When I say that I want to have a gospel driven approach to marriage, to raising my boys, to work, to evangelism, to theology, to how I read the Bible and apply it to my life, I want that to mean that Jesus is my passion and all that I say and do revolves around His Lordship over my life (Colossians 3:17).  I don’t want to say that I am gospel driven and mean that I love facts about Christ or that I love theology.  I want to be like Paul the Apostle and love Jesus (Philippians 3:7-11).  I want to show my love for the gospel by learning to allow the Spirit of God to move through me to obedience to the Lordship of Christ (1 John 2:3-6).

The gospel is not facts.  The gospel is not a plan.  The gospel cannot be reduced to steps.  The gospel is not something we use on the lost to bring them to repentance.  Rather the gospel is all about God.  The focus is on God.  After all, it is His laws that we have violated that caused us to need His grace for our salvation (1 John 3:4).  We humans deserve His just wrath against sin (Romans 1:18).  The gospel is focused on how God saved us in Christ Jesus (1 Corinthians 2:1-5).  The gospel is all about Christ and His saving work (1 Corinthians 15:1-4).  In short, the gospel is focused on a Person and not a plan.  I pray that I don’t view the gospel as about me, my life, my plans, or even a plan but I pray that I focus on the Lordship of Christ in all things.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

07/29/2013 at 11:23 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also like the notion of the Gospel being power–the power of God unto salvation. When Paul talks about the last days being filled with people who have a form of godliness but denying the power, I think this means that there are “spiritual” people who don’t have anything to do with the Gospel, which then means they lack God Himself. The Gospel is power. IF there is no power, then you are without the Gospel. And the “power” is not the ability to heal, or have visions, or get tingly sensations. The power is the new life of the Spirit, the divine nature, in the believer.

    jeff

    07/30/2013 at 1:24 PM


Comments are closed.

