Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Was Judas Saved? (Part 1)

I was listening to an Arminian preacher whom I enjoy and he was preaching from John 17.  He noted from John 17:12 and he said emphatically that Judas was never saved.  This preacher pointed out that Jesus calls Judas “the son of destruction” and he said, “Jesus would never say this about His chosen children of God.  Those whom Jesus has chosen will never be lost.”  I have no doubt that this brother is an Arminian but his words sounded very much like a Calvinist view of Judas and of unconditional election.

I want to spend a few posts examining the case of Judas Iscariot.  Was he saved?  Was he lost the whole time?  Was he a man chosen by Jesus and who fell into sin and fell away from Jesus to do what he did?  I want to look to the Scriptures of course as our final authority.  How you view Judas often reflects your theological convictions.  Those who hold to eternal security would instantly read my question about Judas and would consider him lost.  Others, like myself, who hold to personal apostasy have a tendency to look at Judas and see him as an apostate who was saved while serving Christ but fell away.

I do think that both camps can approach Judas as a mystery.  While I will admit up front that I side with the apostasy view of Judas, I do respect, of course, many who differ with me over this.  The most important thing is that both sides view Judas as a man of sin.  We can and should use Judas as an example of sinning.  Whether you teach that Judas was a false convert or whether you believe he turned away from Christ, we should point to him and use him as the antitype of what it means to follow Christ.  Further, we can use Judas to warn people that Matthew 7:21-23 is going to be true of many people I am afraid in the visible Church of God.

Salvation is Jesus.  Salvation is not believing facts about Jesus.  Salvation is not once believing a truth about Jesus.  Salvation is the Person of the Lord Jesus Christ.  I love Him (1 John 4:10).  I praise God that He sent His Son for my sins and that He loved me enough to pour out His wrath upon His Son (Romans 5:8-9).  Salvation is all of Jesus.  I praise God that He keeps me by His grace (Hebrews 7:24-25; 1 Peter 1:5; Jude 24-25).  I cling to Jesus, to who He is and what He has done.  I renounce the works of the flesh for salvation and look only to the blood of Christ to wash away my sins (Hebrews 9:27-28; 1 John 1:7).  Jesus is a wonderful Savior and I long to see Him face to face (1 John 3:1-3).  As we study Judas, may we all look to Jesus Christ alone to save us and to keep us holy before the Father (1 John 2:1-2).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

07/02/2013 at 9:56 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SD – I think that it would be difficult to spend that much time with Jesus and not believe in Him as the Messiah. However, some of His own siblings rejected Him. So, like you, I think Judas is a mystery…

    drwayman

    07/02/2013 at 10:26 AM


Comments are closed.

