Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Short Thoughts on Reading Secular Books

I love to read and read many different types of books.  My favorite reading is the Bible followed by theology books.  After that would be biblical commentaries and Christian biographies.  Finally, I enjoy reading history books with either the American Civil War or World War II being my favorite time periods to read about.

However, I was asked recently about reading secular books of fiction particularly horror books.  My mother enjoyed reading horror books from authors such as Stephen King.  King is a good writer (there is no doubt about that) but his books are full of sexual perversion and ungodly language.  Most horror books glorify human suffering, death, Satanism, the occult, vile sinful acts such as murdering, rape, fornication, etc.  The fad lately on horror has been zombie stories.  Zombies are the dead who come to life to feed off humans.  Zombie books are vile as well full of language and the wicked sins of man.

That is my problem with many secular fiction books, they are full of ungodliness.  I have read the books of John Grisham and his books are likewise full of sex, language, corse jesting, using the Lord’s name in vain, and many other sinful acts.  This is also true of others such as Dan Brown or even the late Michael Crichton.

If you want to read “Christian” horror, I recommend the works of Frank Peretti.

I believe the Christian should be careful with what they read and listen to.  We are not often aware how much we are products of the world around us.  We must allow the Word of God to be our guide and to abstain from every form of evil  (1 Thessalonians 5:21-22).  We are to love God with all our minds (Mark 12:30) and this would mean that we must be careful not to fill our minds with sin.  May the Spirit of God help us to be holy (John 16:8-11) and pure before God (Philippians 4:8).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

07/01/2013 at 2:47 PM

Posted in Books, Holiness

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like you, the book that I read most is the Bible, accompanied by Biblical commentaries and theological books. I also read regularly books borrowed from our local public library’s Recent Non-fiction rack. In fiction I read mainly juvenile fiction, a habit I acquired as an elementary school teacher and single parent.

    Bob Hunter

    07/02/2013 at 1:50 AM

    • Excellent. The public library is a good source for free books (well free unless you count paying high taxes!).


Comments are closed.

