Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

How Much Doctrine Can One Distort and Still Be Saved?

This is a great post from William Birch in which he asks the question regarding doctrine and how much one can distort and still be saved.  His post is a good read.  In this post he examines how Calvinists, at times, have made the claim that Calvinism is the gospel and that anything less than pure Calvinism is a distortion of the gospel.  I have met such Calvinists.  It is disheartening to hear them make claims such as this.  I have also met Calvinists who claim that only Calvinism is truly God-centered theology.  This too is a distortion of the truth.

In reality, the vast majority of those who claim Christianity are not Calvinists at all.  While they are not Arminians either, most would fall into the non-Calvinist camp.  I have several friends who would fit that such description.  They would not claim to be Arminians (despite agreeing with Arminians on most theological issues) but would also not claim Calvinism.  Many IFB folks would fall into such a category.

Thankfully, the gospel is the gospel.  I reject that Calvinism is the gospel but I likewise reject that Arminianism is the gospel.  I was saved by the grace of God before I became an Arminian.  I didn’t even know what Calvinism and Arminianism really was until I was confronted with the doctrine of eternal security by a sin loving student I went to school with who claimed he was saved despite living in unrepented sin.  It was here that I begin to study the differences regarding the doctrine of eternal security and after reading many books, I came down on the Arminian side of the issue.  Shortly thereafter I met a former Methodist pastor who gave me some books by Arminius and by John Wesley to read and I was cemented as an Arminian.

My point is that Jesus saves us before we become doctrinally based.  I have no doubt that we must hear about the true Jesus to be saved as there are false christs (Matthew 24:24).  Yet Jesus is the One who saves and not the Baptist church or the Pentecostal church or any other churches or men.  Arminius does not save.  Calvin does not save.  Jesus only saves (John 14:6).  Jesus alone is the One who died for our sins (Matthew 26:28) and through faith in His blood, we are forgiven (Acts 13:38-39).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

06/12/2013 at 8:14 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Perhaps the danger of distorted doctrine is not that it prevents salvation but that it can lead us away from salvation. If not checked and corrected it has the potential of replacing the gospel in our lives.

    Like sin – if continued with it will lead us further from God,

    Onesimus

    06/12/2013 at 8:38 PM

  2. “His post is a good read.” I agree. I also think that your post is a great read.

    “Jesus is the One who saves and not the Baptist church or the Pentecostal church or any other churches or men. Arminius does not save. Calvin does not save. Jesus only saves (John 14:6). Jesus alone is the One who died for our sins (Matthew 26:28) and through faith in His blood, we are forgiven (Acts 13:38-39).” Amen!

    Bob Hunter

    06/12/2013 at 11:31 PM


Comments are closed.

