Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Praise God For Pentecost!

Pentecost Sunday.  The Church celebrates the giving of the Holy Spirit to the Church.  We rejoice that God has poured out His Spirit just as He promised He would through Joel the prophet (Joel 2:28-32).  Peter the Apostle saw the coming of the Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost as the fulfillment of that prophecy (see Acts 2:16).  Just as the Father had promised the coming of the Spirit through the Old Testament Prophets so the Lord Jesus had promised His own disciples just ten days earlier that He would send the promise of the Father (Acts 1:4-5).  The disciples obeyed the Lord Jesus and for ten days they prayed in the upper room waiting Jesus’ promise (Acts 1:14).

The day of Pentecost marked a transformation in the plan of God.  The people of God would now be the people of the Spirit.  All people could enjoy being the people of God through the ministry of the Spirit (John 10:16).  The gift of the Spirit would not be given to only the Jews but to all people who would come and be saved through faith in Christ Jesus (Acts 2:21; Galatians 3:13-14).  In fact, Paul the Apostle would later write in Romans 8:9 that if any person does not have the Spirit of Christ, they do not belong to Christ.  The baptism by the Holy Spirit into the body of Christ is essential to salvation (1 Corinthians 12:12-13).

I rejoice that the Comforter has come.  When my mother passed away last August, the Holy Spirit was a sweet friend to me.  I rejoiced time and time again at the words of Jesus in John 14:26-27 (KJV):

26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

The Comforter was a dear friend to me as I grieved the loss of my mama.  I sensed His sweet presence.  I sensed His praying (Romans 8:26-27).  I sensed His security (Ephesians 1:13-14).  I sensed His gentle loving hand upon me.  He brought me through.

And He has done this other times as well.  How often have I felt like giving up and felt like I didn’t want to pray anymore.  Yet the gentle love of the Comforter has always been my strength to help me rise up and seek God.  I rejoice that He is not just my Comforter but He also is my convictor (John 16:8).  He gently deals with me about my sins.  The Holy Spirit never condemns me but He gently and lovingly shows me my sins.  He does not lead me to condemnation (Romans 8:1) but He gently leads me to forgiveness in Christ (1 John 1:9).  What a precious friend He is.

This day, I rejoice in the Comforter.  I rejoice that He has come.  I rejoice that He has filled me.  I rejoice that He abides with me both now and forevermore.  I pray that I would not grieve Him (Ephesians 4:30).  I pray that He would be my guide forever.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

05/19/2013 at 6:58 PM

