Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Why Don’t Arminians Struggle With the Assurance of Their Salvation?

The issue of assurance has never been a major issue among any of the Arminians that I associate with nor with any of the Arminian churches that I have attended on a regular basis (and Arminian churches are all I have been to on a regular basis since the Lord saved me in 1992).  I have heard a few teachings on it but very few Arminians that I know struggle with the assurance of our salvation.

And why is that?  In fact, in the history of Calvinism there has even been an assurance controversy.  Hyper-Calvinists have often said that one cannot know that one has assurance of their salvation.  None can actually know they are the elect until the day of judgment.  One can seek to have assurance and one should look for evidence of assurance but it is possible for a person to live their entire life believing they are the elect of God but then die and be cast aside because they were in fact non-elect (Matthew 7:21-23).

Arminianism has always placed great emphasis on the work of Jesus Christ.  Jesus is our salvation and Arminianism has always stressed that the work of Christ alone accomplishes our salvation.  Further, we maintain that a person is justified through faith in Christ Jesus (Romans 5:1; Ephesians 2:8-9) and that our salvation is found only in Jesus (John 14:6; 15:1-11).  To be outside of Christ is to be lost.  There is only one way to eternal life and that is in Jesus Christ, through loving Him and blessing Him and being faithful to Him (Colossians 1:21-23).  The Arminian then takes the Word of God about salvation (that Jesus shed His blood for all) and applies that to all who place their total faith in Him (1 Timothy 4:10).  Those who reject His blood are lost and condemned for their own sins (John 3:14-18).  The believers hope lies not in their election but in the elected one, the Lord Jesus Christ who gave His life so that we might have life in Him.  We recognize that eternal life is found only in Jesus and this life begins the moment of salvation and continues only in Christ (John 8:51).

This is why Arminians don’t struggle with our assurance.  We know we are the elect of God through faith in Christ.  We know that Jesus shed His blood for us.  We don’t doubt for one minute that Jesus didn’t die for us (1 John 2:2).  We trust the Word of God that says that whoever calls upon the name of the Lord shall be saved (Romans 10:13).  That would be me.  I am saved not by my works but through the grace of God given to me in Christ Jesus.  I have done the work of God for salvation (John 6:29; Romans 4:5).  My hope, my assurance, my reward is Jesus (1 Corinthians 1:30-31)!  I realize that apart from Him, I am lost (Romans 6:23).  I know that I cannot overcome sin by my power but only in Christ Jesus (Galatians 5:16-17).  I recognize that if I sow to my flesh, I will reap destruction (Galatians 6:7-9).  My entire life is focused on the Lord Jesus alone.  He only is my defense (1 John 2:1).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

05/10/2013 at 5:49 PM

