Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Teaching Boys To Pray

This past Wednesday night I discussed prayer with our Royal Rangers group.  My text was Matthew 7:7.  How do you teach boys from ages 6-10 to pray?  While I do believe that teaching from the Bible is essential to teaching boys to pray, the best way to learn to pray is by praying with them and showing them how to pray.  Of course this requires that we know how to pray ourselves and that we know the biblical teaching on prayer but prayer is better caught than taught.

Leonard Ravenhill once said that the secret to praying is praying in secret.  I would urge you fathers and leaders of boys to learn to pray in secret.  Jesus said that His disciples would be marked by prayer (Matthew 6:5).  Jesus Himself demonstrated a life of prayer (Luke 5:16; 6:12) so much so that His disciples came to Him and asked Him how to pray (Luke 11:1).  Jesus often told parables to teach His disciples to pray (Luke 18:1).

The simplicity of prayer is seen in Matthew 7:7.  Jesus says three things about prayer here.  They are simply: Ask, seek, knock.  Three simple things that we have all done.  So why don’t we pray?  Is it fear of God?  Is it lack of knowledge about God’s will or His Word?  Is that we trust in ourselves or our technology above faith in Christ?

With my boys (both Royal Rangers and my own three sons), I want them to learn to pray both from the Bible and from my own life.  I want to be a deep man of prayer.  A perfect day for me in 12 hours would be 4 hours in prayer, 4 hours in the Word, and 4 hours on the streets evangelizing.  I want to instruct my boys to men of God, men who love Christ passionately.  I want them to pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17), to devote themselves to prayer (Colossians 4:2).  I want my boys to know what it means to find their dad wresting with God like Jacob did in Genesis 32:24.  I want them to hear my crying out with tears for the lost (Romans 10:1).  I want them to hear me interceding for all (1 Timothy 2:1-7).  Oh that my boys would be men of prayer!  Oh that they would learn to pray from me!

Paul said in 1 Corinthians 11:1 that he wanted the Corinthians to imitate him.  Do you want boys to imitate you?  Do you want others to copy your prayer life?  Your evangelism?  Your time in the Word?  Your deep love of Christ and His kingdom?  Your obedience to God?

Written by The Seeking Disciple

04/19/2013 at 10:43 AM

