Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Arminians and the Heart of the Reformation

The heart of the Reformation can be summed up in the five solae.  The five solae are five Latin statements regarding the Protestant view of theology.  They are:

  • Sola Scriptura (“by Scripture alone”)
  • Sola Fide (“by faith alone”)
  • Sola Gratia (“by grace alone”)
  • Solus Christus (“through Christ alone”)
  • Soli Deo Gloria (“glory to God alone”)

All five points of the solae are defended and defined by the Reformers such as Martin Luther.  It was these five main points that separated the Reformers from the Roman Catholics.  They were written and taught in response to the Roman Catholic dogma.

As Arminians, we must stand with our Protestant brethren in regard to these points.  We agree and stand with our brethren over them all.  All true Protestant ministry must flow from these points.  While we do hold to our doctrinal distinctives, we hold that these five points are what make us Protestant.  It is the heart of the Reformation.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

03/12/2013 at 10:01 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SD – I’m so glad that you posted this. So many that I speak to don’t realize that we Arminians also affirms the Five Solae. So many believe that it just belongs to the Calvinist branch of the Reformers.


    03/12/2013 at 4:36 PM

  2. […] friends of mine in the blogosphere posted Arminians and the Heart of the Reformation recently and it is this article that has sent me down this path to break from my normal rotation […]

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: