Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Reading

I once visited Leonard Ravenhill’s home in Lindale, Texas.  His house was full of books.  In his study were shelves full of books.  Ravenhill was a reader.  He often would read a chapter or more from books when some brethren would gather in his house for prayer.  He loved to read from the great saints of God such as Spurgeon, Bounds, Tozer (whom he was personal friends with before his death in 1963), Murray, Wesley, and many more.

Charles Spurgeon himself was an avid reader.  He read as many as five books a week!  He too had a personal library full of books.  Spurgeon loved to read commentaries and would spend hours reading over commentaries.  He had a photographic memory and would often walk into the pulpit to preach with little more than an outline and would recite from memory quotes from books that he had read or hymns.

Dr. Al Mohler is an avid reader.  He reads as many as ten books a week!

Dr. John MacArthur is an avid reader as well.  He has made it his custom to always reading a commentary, a book on theology, and sometimes a “hot” topic book on history, culture, etc.  His sermons show his love for commentaries and his love for theology.

I wish I could read like that.  On a good week I can read up to two books a week.  Typically I average one book.  I wish I could read more.  Time does not permit that for me.  I work a full-time job (mostly overnight) and am a full-time parent and husband not to mention my passion for the Lord Jesus.  I love to read though and would rather read than any other thing besides prayer.

With the modern technology we have now with Kindles and other e-readers, there is no excuse for not reading books.  I own a Kindle Fire and love my Kindle.  Each week there are literally hundreds of free books one can download.  I subscribe to a website that sends me updates about free books out there.  You can find many godly books for free and you can also read books from saints long gone such as E.M. Bounds, Albert Barnes, John Bunyan, etc.  I download as many free books as I can even if I don’t agree fully with the books or the authors.

Reading stretches your mind like nothing else.  Television makes you passive even if you are watching programs designed for learning.  Reading allows you to not just stretch your thinking but it also causes you to focus unlike television.  Reading fictional works allows you to create worlds and images that are only in your mind.  To read a book and then see the movie is often disappointing to me as the movie is never as good as the book and is nothing like I pictured in my mind (The Hobbit comes to mind).

Finally, it is interesting to me that God has chosen to faithfully reveal Himself and His Son and our salvation through a written book.  The Bible is a collection of 66 different books that faithfully reveals the truth of God and His Messiah.  God could have chosen to reveal His salvation to us through visions or dreams or through a picture in the sky but He chose to reveal Himself through His Word (John 20:31).  His Word is to be studied, memorized, applied, and taught to others (2 Timothy 3:15-4:3).  The Word sanctifies us (John 17:17) and His Word cuts us (Hebrews 4:12).  His Word is how we defeat the lies of Satan (Ephesians 6:17).  His Word is how we know we are disciples of Jesus (John 8:31-32).  His Word is how we grow in the Lord (Psalm 1:1-3; 2 Peter 3:18).  We are to long for His Word (1 Peter 2:2).  We are not to add to His Word nor take away from it (Revelation 22:18-19).  The Word is vital to knowing Christ and preaching His truth.  How important it is then to spend time reading the Bible above all other books.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

01/14/2013 at 3:27 PM

Posted in Books

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Saw this post by Tony Reinke on The Gospel Coalition blog.

    http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/tgc/2013/01/13/you-asked-im-busy-what-should-i-read/

    kerwyn wilson

    01/15/2013 at 1:37 PM


Comments are closed.

