Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Does Your Life Reveal that Jesus is Lord?

Recently Dr. Michael Brown asked the question, “If I could spend the next 30 days in your church, would I find your church a praying church?”  I turn that question now and ask both myself and you my reader, if I could spend the next 30 days with you constantly, would your life (or my own) be a life of obedience to Jesus as Lord?  Would your life be a life of prayer?  Of studying the Word of God?  Would I find you sharing your faith with the lost?  Would I notice that you take your money and give much to the poor and to missions?  Or would your life reveal a shallow Christianity?  A “faith” that is only seen when you go to church?  Would your life be full of sin from ungodly movies or watching things on the Internet you know you wouldn’t if someone was sitting right there with you (which there is in the case of our omnipresent God)?  Would your marriage and the raising of your children reflect a deep desire for Jesus and His kingdom to come?  Would others characterize you as a godly man or woman?

I know these are hard questions but I ask them of myself as well.  I want to be a man of God.  I want to be holy as He is holy (1 Peter 1:15-16).  Jesus saved me from sin and its power (Romans 6:1-4) and I don’t want to be a slave of sin anymore (Romans 6:11-23).  I don’t want to sow to my flesh and reap death (Romans 8:12-13; Galatians 6:7-9).  I am not so foolish as to think that I too can’t give in to my flesh (1 Corinthians 10:1-12) and I am also not too foolish to understand that Satan can deceive us (2 Corinthians 11:3).  I don’t want to be bewitched (Galatians 3:1-5).  I want my life to reflect a deep passion for Christ and His kingdom.  I want to burdened in prayer for the lost, for my family, for the glory of God.  I want to hide His Word in my heart (Psalm 119:11).  I want to be His disciple (John 8:31-32).  I want to love Jesus above all else (Luke 14:25-35).  I want to avoid this world (1 John 2:15-17).  Let it be said of me that I am a friend of God (James 4:4).

I am thankful for the grace of God.  He is merciful toward us in His Son and He forgives our sins (1 John 1:9).  Yet I don’t want to abuse His grace (Jude 4) nor do I want to trample the precious blood of Christ through my sinning (Hebrews 10:26-31).  I want to be like Jesus in every way possible (Matthew 5:48; 1 John 2:6).  I praise God that He saves us by His grace (Ephesians 2:8-9) and not by our works (Titus 3:5-7) but I want to glorify Him in all that I say or do (Colossians 3:17).  His love motives me this way (John 14:15).  His Spirit convicts me and leads me to want to be more like Jesus (John 16:7-11).

I pray this is true of you as well.  May we hunger to be like Jesus in everything we do!

Written by The Seeking Disciple

01/07/2013 at 11:50 AM

