Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Tired and Thankful for Grace

I sat down to write.  I wanted to share something profound from the Scriptures or perhaps write a piece dealing with some aspect of Arminianism but instead I stared at the computer screen for about five minutes and then started writing this.

I am tired.  Dead tired.  My work schedule stinks.  No doubt I am thankful to Jesus for my job and it does provide for my family and yes there are plenty of pagans for me to evangelize but my hours wear me down.  I work mostly Thursday through Monday all overnight.  I drive a truck so I spend time on the road and while this allows me to pray and listen to preaching on CD’s, I am tired simply because it is hard to get your body to adjust to sleeping during the day.  My dispatch times very as well and this means that some days I get to sleep 6 hours or so and then go back out (Federal law says I must be off the clock for 10 hours to drive again) while other days allow me to be at home for about 12 hours or so but either way, I have a hard time sleeping during the day.  It’s just not normal to sleep during the day for 8 hours or so.  I toss and turn and wake up and hear my boys in the house and well it’s just hard to sleep.

That said, I am thankful during times like this for God’s grace.  I am not sinning so don’t accuse me here of abusing His grace but I am thankful that when I am tired, when I am moody, when I simply can’t hardly read my Bible without falling asleep, His grace is sufficient toward me (2 Corinthians 12:9).  I often find myself praising Him more so when I am tired for the fact that my salvation is not based on my works but upon the finished work of the Lord Jesus Christ (John 19:30).  Jesus has paid the price for my salvation (Mark 10:45) and I am set free in Him (Galatians 5:1).  My salvation is not based on me earning God’s favor but upon faith in the Lord Jesus who blesses me with favor before the Father (1 Corinthians 1:30-31).  Salvation is by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8-9) and not by works (Titus 3:5-7).  The work of Jesus is to believe in Him and Him alone for salvation (John 6:29).  I rejoice that salvation is accomplished not by what I do but through Christ alone (Romans 5:1).

So I will end this short post now and try to go to sleep.  My soul is at peace with God (Psalm 116:7) and for that reason I can truly rest.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

12/29/2012 at 12:48 PM

Posted in Blogging, Grace

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Roy, I remember a time when I was quite sick and felt quite close to God despite that. It is true that we can be comforted if our difficulties (2 Cor 1).

    I may have some suggestions about dealing with the tiredness issue, can you flick me an email at bethyada@gmail.com?

    bethyada

    12/31/2012 at 6:25 PM


Comments are closed.

