Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Two Doctrines People Hate the Most in Evangelism

When I confront sinners with the gospel, what the two doctrines that people hate the most?  I would say the following:

1.  You Are A Sinner Who Has Earned God’s Wrath.

People want to hear that God loves them, that He has a wonderful plan for their lives, that He accepts them in their sins.  They don’t want to hear that they are under the wrath of God.  They despise the thought that they, this good, moral being, deserve the wrath of God.  Hitler does.  George W. Bush does (yes I have heard that).  The Connecticut shooter does but not us.  Not I.  Not me.  We compare ourselves to the worst people we know and we feel better about our chances before God.

Yet when I confront them with the Law (1 Timothy 1:8-11) and show them their sins (Romans 7:7), they shut their mouths of self-boasting and typically sit there with this look on their face of, “I am doomed.”  Sometimes they listen to me move on the cross and the work of Christ but many will revert to, “Well, God is good and loving so He’ll overlook my sins.”  But then I ask them if they would think a judge good and just if he let the guilty go free.  He would be good if he punished the law breakers for their violations no matter how small.  Same is true of God, our moral Judge.  He will judge all (Romans 2:7-11; Revelation 20:11-15).  All people must stand before God (Hebrews 9:27).  On that day, what will be your answer when He examines you by His Law and finds you guilty as charged?

2.  Justification by Faith.

People want to think that because they are good people or do good things, God will accept them.  I’ve had people tell me that they are going to heaven when they die because they joined a church or read their Bible once or said a “sinner’s prayer.”  I’ve had them justify themselves by pointing to good deeds to which I point to Isaiah 64:6.  People, oddly enough, reject the idea that Jesus is the only way to salvation.  They want to believe there are many other roads, other ways, other plans, loopholes to heaven.  Some want to pretend that God will let all in and be merciful but again, what kind of judge would He be to do so and on what basis?

People despise being told that faith and repentance in Jesus is the only way (John 14:6).  They want to hear me tell them that they only believe in Jesus and then add their works or add this or that to Jesus and this will ensure salvation.  Instead, I point to the fact that Jesus must be our Lord and Savior to enter into heaven.  Heaven is a prepared place for a prepared people.  Only those who repent of their sins are His (Acts 2:38-39).  Those who abide in sin are not His (1 John 3:6-9).  Jesus said in Matthew 7:21-23 that many will say that Jesus was their Lord but will be denied heaven because of their practicing wickedness.  Repentance then is necessary for us to be saved.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

12/21/2012 at 10:00 AM

