Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

But I Hold To Man-Centered Theology?

I believe:

  • That salvation is a work of God’s grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8-9).
  • That we are saved by grace through faith and apart from works (John 6:29; Romans 3:23-24; 4:4-5; 5:1; Titus 3:5-7).
  • That the whole Christian life is by grace through the work of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:16-17; James 2:14-26).
  • That we are saved by grace and kept by grace (Jude 24-25).
  • That grace is not earned nor deserved but is given to us because of the graciousness of our God (2 Corinthians 5:18-21).

Yet I hold to “man-centered” theology because I reject:

  • That God has predestined a few to salvation while damning the vast majority to eternal destruction.
  • That God is the direct cause of all things whether good or bad.
  • That God forces people to believe the gospel.
  • That man must first be regenerated by the Spirit in order to believe the gospel.
  • That salvation is unconditional and that even faith and repentance must be the work of God lest it become works.

If I do hold to “man-centered” theology and its based on the Bible then let it be so.  I would rather my conscience and my heart line up with the Word of God then to align with theologians any day.  Bear in mind, Arminianism nor Calvinism nor any ism has ever saved.  Jesus alone saves for His glory (John 14:6; Ephesians 2:5-7).  Arminius is not my savior nor is Calvin or Wesley.  Jesus Christ alone saves and He alone is the One we should adore (Revelation 5:9-10).  We must bow our knee to Him alone and not to the theologians of the past or present or future (Philippians 2:5-11).

However, I do believe it is unfair to call someone “man-centered” in their theology when in fact this is not the case.  This is merely a way of avoiding the theological issues at hand.

Written by The Seeking Disciple

11/29/2012 at 3:57 PM

