Arminian Today

A Jesus-Centered Arminian Blog

Faith and Practice

I was amazed recently when I posted on Facebook how true disciples of Jesus could vote for any candidate for political office who holds to abortion on demand or same-sex marriage as being valid and actually had people who claim to follow Christ attack me for this.  This is not an issue of politics.  It is a biblical worldview issue.  Far too many people who claim to be Christians seem to be able to separate their faith in Christ from their moral choices including how they vote or what they read or how they talk.  They claim to be followers of Jesus but with their lives, they do what they like.  This runs contrary to the Bible.  I find nothing in Scripture to suggest that we can claim Christ only when we are in fellowship with other disciples at church (Hebrews 10:24-25) or that we can claim Jesus but do whatever else we like including support those who would uphold murdering unborn babies or supporting legalized homosexual unions.  The attitude seems to be that when it comes to our faith, it should not affect our entire lives especially when it comes to politics.

I want to say before I write further that I don’t believe politics are the answer for our nation.  I believe the answer is the gospel of Christ.  The great need for our world is not reformation or morality but regeneration (John 3:3-7).  The preaching of Christ alone will transform our world as people turn from sin to Christ for salvation (Ephesians 2:1-10).  The proper attitude of the disciple of Jesus is not a focus on the kingdoms of this world but upon Jesus, our King (Romans 10:9; 1 Timothy 6:15).  The kingdom of Christ does not derive its power from this world but from the Lord God (John 18:36).  The power to transform our world lies not in the flesh but in the power of God (Acts 1:8; 1 Corinthians 2:1-5).  I have no doubts that true change will not come through governments of this world but in the gospel.  My hope is found therein.

That said, let me state that I do look at ALL things through the lenses of Scripture.  A disciple of Jesus is not a disciple only when its convenient.  If that is the case, you are not a disciple.  Jesus makes it clear in passages such as Matthew 7:24-27 that His disciples are those who put His teachings into practice.  In John 8:31-32 Jesus tells us that His disciples are those who abide in His teachings and His teachings set us free.  In Luke 11:28 Jesus tells us that His true disciples are those who hear the Word of God and do it!  I find nothing in the teachings of Jesus that says that we can follow Him but do what we like, think how we like, or not be His total slave (Luke 17:10).  We are to abandon all for Him (Luke 14:25-35).  Jesus is to be our everything for without Him, we can do nothing (John 15:5).  The entirety of Jesus is to fill our lives (John 6:53-54).  Everything about the disciple points to Jesus Christ.  We are not our own, we are His who bought us with His own blood (1 Corinthians 6:19-20).

So how can people who claim to be disciples of Jesus turn around and vote for ungodliness, watch ungodliness on television, watch and support ungodly movies, fill their minds with worldly thinking and with the junk of this world?  How is it that people could openly support people who hold to things that run contrary to God’s Word such as abortion or homosexuality or any number of other issues?  How is it that disciples of Jesus claim to follow Jesus but they look and act more like this world than like Christ (James 4:4)?  Have they forgotten Jesus’ words in John 15:18-25 that teaches us that if we follow Christ, the world will hate us?  Why do churches want to attract the world using the things of this world instead of obeying Ephesians 4:11-16 and equipping the saints through faithful teaching from God’s Word to go into the world to make disciples (Matthew 28:19-20)?  Have we forgotten 1 John 2:15-17?  Have we forgotten that our citizenship is in heaven (Philippians 3:20-21) and that heaven should be our focus (2 Corinthians 4:16-18)?

For me, all that I do and say and think revolves around the Lord Jesus.  He is my everything.  I love Him more than life itself.  I love His salvation and His mercy and His grace.  I love His kingdom and His power.  I love His reign.  I love who He is.  When I go to bed, my heart is focused on Christ.  Throughout my day I think about Christ (Psalm 1:1-3; Isaiah 26:3.  When I work, I meditate upon Jesus and all that He has done for me.  He is my all in all (Philippians 3:7-9).  He is my life (Colossians 3:4).  I know that the wages of sin is death but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus my Lord (Romans 6:23).  I love Jesus dearly.  I long to see Him face to face and fall down and worship Him for a thousand years (1 John 3:1-3).

In Revelation 14:4 we read of the 144,000 and those who follow the Lamb wherever He goes.  I am not going to work through the different views of what that verse means but I do notice that these faithful disciples are to be what we are called to be as well. Notice that they follow Jesus completely.  They follow Him wherever He goes.  He is their faithful Shepherd (1 Peter 5:4; cf. John 10:14).  Jesus said that His disciples are those who hear His Word consistently (John 10:27-29).  You’ll also notice that these disciples in Revelation 14:5 are people of holiness just as we are called to be (Matthew 5:48; Hebrews 12:14; 1 Peter 1:15-16; 2:11-12; 1 John 3:6-9).  The word “saints” implies being set apart from sin and unto God (Romans 6).  We are saints in Christ Jesus (1 Corinthians 1:2; Hebrews 10:10, 14).  The only way to be holy is not by avoiding things that we should not do but by focusing on Jesus who rescues us from the wrath to come (1 Thessalonians 1:10).  Jesus alone is able to keep us from sin (1 Corinthians 10:13) and it’s when we turn from following Him that we stumble into sin (James 1:12-15).

The focus of the disciple of Jesus is always on pleasing our Lord (Philippians 1:20-21).  My joy is found in Jesus.  My delight is found in Jesus.  My confidence is found in Jesus.  My very life is found in Jesus.  I want all of me to revolve around His Lordship over my life.  I want nothing of my own.  I want all of me to be under His reign (1 Peter 3:15).  What I watch on TV.  What I do with my mind.  Even how I vote all falls under His Lordship.  How I love my wife.  How I raise my boys.  How I do my job.  All of this flows from my faith in the Lord Jesus Christ who gave His life for my sins.  My entire world revolves around Jesus.

And frankly, that is the gospel (James 1:23-27; 2:14-26).

Written by The Seeking Disciple

11/09/2012 at 10:00 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brother, we have a whole generation of non-christian ‘christians’. that’s my take on it.
    -mike

    mike and brandy

    11/09/2012 at 11:40 AM

  2. I don’t think the preaching of Christ will transform the world. Jesus did tell his disciples to proclaim the gospel of the kingdom in all the world (Mt. 24:14), but he also told them they would be hated by all nations (24:9). Even though disciples are persecuted for Christ, they are still blessed, for it is they who are part of Jesus’ new kingdom (Mt. 5:10).

    jesusandthebible

    11/09/2012 at 5:23 PM

    • The gospel is the only hope to turn the tide if sin and blasphemy against a holy God. The gospel alone is able to take people of this world and see them saved and walking in the Spirit.

  3. I’m not sure I agree with everything you’re saying, but this is a very well-written post and has given me a lot to think about. Thank you for sharing!

    arealrattlesnake

    11/11/2012 at 5:34 PM


Comments are closed.

